Skip to main content

Hi all,

I've purchased a pair of the sE Munro's 'Egg' monitors and I'm very happy with their performance.

http://www.seelectronics.com/se-munro-egg-150

Sadly they constantly play a noise even with no input at all (no input connections - no AUX, no MAIN (XLR) input).
The noise is very low in loudness level. But it's constantly hearable if you are 30cm away from the speakers.

This monitor system is my first one. So I'm not very experienced with active monitoring system and I also
cannot tell you if they are better/worse compared with other speakers like ELAC, KH etc. pp.

Is this type of 'noise' normal for active speakers? I guess not... They should be _silent_ when not playing something?

I tried a lot of solutions...
- Power Conditioner
- Line Interactive UPS
- Power Transformator; even disconnecting the protection connector for test purposes

But nothing helped me out with this noisy sound.

Due to the fact that this monitoring system is a integrated system:
- Two monitor speakers are connected to an amp by (I guess, they are properitary) Speakon cables
- The RME Babyface is connected with the amp by two XLR (left/right) cables

Now, after I tried out a lot of solutions to get a "clean" power source (I tought, this could be the source of the noise problem)
and _nothing_ helped me sort this noise out... I think, maybe the active cable connections between the speakers and
the amp are the source of the noise problem. Or, maybe some crappy components inside the amp / monitor speakers.
But I can't imagine that for a device worth $2000.

What do you think?

Thanks a lot and kind regards,
Aron

Comments

audiokid Tue, 03/27/2012 - 23:13

I was looking at those. The company discussed sending me some a year back, I hoped to do a little field test on them, thus, pass on a bit more info for us here. Never heard back from them so I moved on... They look pretty cool.