Skip to main content

I am just getting into sound and am very much a novice. I recently purchased a Zoom H4n and a pair of MXL 603s. I'm attempting to record a choir I'm in using this gear. I've made some test recordings and have also recorded a rehearsal. In these recordings I'm noticing a low frequency bumping noise. At first I thought it might be the microphones picking up steps, but it happens when there are no steps and only seems to happen in one channel. It also sounds electrical to me and not caused by an external sound source.

Here are a couple of audio samples that exhibit the behavior in the right channel. [MEDIA=soundcloud]cygnl7/lowfreqbumps1[/media] has some very rapid "bumps", and [MEDIA=soundcloud]cygnl7/lowfreqbumps2[/media] has a number of distinct ones.

I've tried switching cables and microphones, but haven't had enough time to really track it down. Any ideas on how I can debug what's going on here? Does this problem sound familiar to anyone?

Our performance is tomorrow, so I don't have a lot of hope that I'll be able to get rid of this by then. It does seem that a high pass filter in Audacity takes these out pretty well.

Thanks in advance for any ideas!

Comments

Boswell Fri, 12/06/2013 - 01:53

The waveforms point to it being either a real acoustic effect or else a power supply problem. I'm assuming you were using phantom power set for 48V for the MXL mics. Was the H4N running on batteries or its mains adaptor?

You could try the low cut filter set to 80Hz or 98Hz during recording. This is described in section 2-03 of the H4N manual.

devguydavid Fri, 12/06/2013 - 07:52

Thanks for your reply. I did have 48V phantom power set. The H4N had batteries in it but I had it plugged in. I assumed it would use AC if plugged in even if there are batteries in it. Maybe I'm wrong in that assumption. I haven't had a whole lot of time to really look at the manual yet.

I'll have to check out the low cut filter on the H4N. Thank you for the suggestion.