Skip to main content

I've been doing quite a lot of research and read lots of recording forums from different sites about the Apogee Rosetta 200 that i was thinking about purchasing it as my next gear purchase.

Well, first off here's my gear list:

Interface: DIGI 02R running Pro Tools 7
Monitors: EVENT ASP8 with Aurolex Mopads and Mackie Big Knob
Preamp: UA-610/Focusrite Octopre (thinking about selling this one)
Mic: RODE K2
Plugins and Softsynths: Waves/Antares/Native Intruments/Spectrasonics
Instruments:Fender guitar, Ibanez bass, a couple of keyboards and a Motif Rack

I just realized a few weeks ago that since I've been making music for a few years now and the reason my tracks didn't sound that good is because I don't have a very good converter besides the 002R.

Some say that the Rosetta is good only if you haven't heard of the others such as Lucid, Mytek, Lynx Auroa, UA 2192 and others...

I've been reading that people who bought other converters besides Apogees argues that Apogee is known for making high quality equipment that's why their stuffs are more expensive than the other guys. If the others are better than Apogee's, then why are 90% or whatever the number of records in America uses Apogee's converters? (as what I've read in other people's posts). Is this just personal taste? Can you really hear the difference between qualities? I mean they all do the same thing, don't they? That's where the confusion hits me. I also talked to a salesperson at Guitar Center about the Rosetta 200 and he said that it will make a huge difference in quality. I guess he kind of convinced me to believed him a little. He also stated that he was embarrassed and ashamed to even make music without one. I mean... really?