1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

a good compressor for around 500 bucks. (or cheaper!)

Discussion in 'Recording' started by blue_sway, Oct 14, 2006.

1. blue_sway

blue_sway Guest

hey all, i'm new to this particular forum, but i've posted some of my songs up in STUDIO PROJECTS from time to time.

i have a presonus firepod interface with a PC using Cubase SX and a few decent AKG mics. (c4000b, c451) i usually compress all i record by recording the source sound, maybe gaining thru the audio process once it's recorded, and THEN adding compression with the compressor plug-in that Cubase provides. it's been suggested to me to compress as i track. i know this is a good thing, but the only compressor i have is an Alesis NanoCompressor that's noisy as hell and puts a hiss on everything i try to use it for. so naturally, it's time to upgrade.

i was thinking channel strip a-la presonus Eureka (that's right about my price range), and some of ART's stuff, but is it like buying a computer printer where you should really just buy the machine that does what you want and not ten things at a time? (unless you spend a fortune on an Avalon 737 - my dream strip).

well, your educated opinions would REALLY help me out this time. thanks in advance for your time and suggestions.

also, here's a curveball for you pros: if i GOT a really nice strip like the 737 and i have it to track drums, with an 8 mic setup, what mic would get the strip on it. i used to think that would be the area, but now i'm thinking maybe the kick? hmmmmm. suggestions for the sake of education here? lol. thanks

g

here's a link to some of my home recordings, if interested:
    Link removed

2. Scoobie

Scoobie Active Member

Really Nice Compressor<~~~~~~~~~~RNC

FMR RNC 1773 compressor........two channel comp. for about 200.00 the last time I looked.