1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Alesis hd 24. Did I change my mind?

Discussion in 'Pro Audio Equipment' started by vinniesrs, Jun 23, 2003.

1. vinniesrs

vinniesrs Active Member

I was just talking to another engineer about his hd 24. I mentioned that I had some concerns about compatability in the future, and archiving. I was completely ignorant of the features of this device. He told me that If I picked up one of these babies icould interface with protools. Also i can assign an ip adress and pull tracks from somewhere else on the network. 24 bit 48k stock, 24/96 with an upgrage chip. Hmmmmmm. $2300 in my town.
    This seems like the answer to almost all my problems. The rest can be remedied with some nice pre's and a shrink.
    :D

2. anonymous

anonymous Guests

take a look at the tascam one too....ive been transfering files from tascam to protools for the past 2 years without a hitch....

3. Davedog

Davedog Distinguished Member

Your Alesis HD24 can become its own server for file transfers and such.I bought mine because of its similarites to tape in its transport controls(except rewind!!!)and the fact that it is destructive recording and in tracking or retracking, I'm not going to lose something in virtual land due to error or power failure.I've had mine about a year....works fine..I did consider, very strongly, the Tascam and it looks to still be a mighty good unit.

4. Kurt Foster

Kurt Foster Distinguished Member

It is hard to go wrong with a Tascam product. As Dave can attest to I still have a whole shelf full of Tascam gear in my garage which has outlived its usefulness.. I can't say that about any other gear I have had. Usually it wears out, breaks or I get so disgusted with it I give it away or sell it. But the Tascam gear lasts and lasts and lasts ... (there's that pink bunny! Wharez ma'shotguuunn?)