1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Beggining with Hstudio

Discussion in 'Recording' started by Runeth, Apr 6, 2010.

1. Runeth

Runeth Guest

Hi, im new in those kind of subjects, but im rly into it. Im intrested in overall recording. I know a bit about dynamic mics, but rly need help with rest. Sooo, i will record vocals and guitar cab.

I don't have much cash now, but i will get it soon. For now i have about 120$, and for it im gonna buy mic. And next month im gonna get 400$ and dunno on what should i spend it.

Mic - Unfortunetly budget don't allow me to buy 2 mics, i know that vocals sound much better on condesner mic but... you know. I searched, read and thought about 4 mics: Sm 58/57, E825/835s. I also thought bout beta 58a but its 50$+ so i don't know rly.

I know also that i have to buy preamp+soundcard. For the preamp i think i should go for DMP3 for M-audio and sound card, you see i don't know what soundcard/audio interface i should get.

Any help will be appreciated.

Sincelery,
    Runeth.

2. drumist69

drumist69 Active Member

Hey there! Welcome aboard! I think you've got the right idea to buy an sm57 and sm58. Use the 57 for guitar cab, the 58 for vocals. The DMP-3 is pretty good for the money, and it has phantom power, which you will need in the future when you get a condenser mic. As for a soundcard, are you using a laptop or desktop? PC or Mac? If you have a desktop PC, I'd recommend the M-Audio Delta 44. Two more inputs than you need at first, but a little room to grow in the future. I know I picked up a lightly used Delta 44 on Ebay a few years back for about $90, with all the original packaging and software. Used that with a DMP-3 for several years,and was happy with the results and had no issues with things not working! Andy

3. Runeth

Runeth Guest