1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Best Drum Heads for Recording

Discussion in 'Drums' started by tripnek, Jul 22, 2003.

1. tripnek

tripnek Active Member

A question for all you Studio Drummers. I run a small studio and record mostly Hard Rock and Metal bands. What are the best heads to suggest for my clients for the recording sessions?

2. Rod Gervais

Rod Gervais Active Member

I am a drummer - and will tell you - i work with my sound - and want you to record em just the way they sound. I worked my butt of to get this sound and it works for me.

I would not be real receptive to your suggesting i install particular heads on my cans just so you could record me......

Don't want ya telling my girl what colour panties to wear either...... :D :D :D :D

Keep smiling and have a great day.....

Rod

3. niconic

niconic Active Member

Rod is right
    musicians who go to the studio to record should not be beginners ... they should be able to choose their heads themselves.
    however I think classic remo ambassadors are fine.
    good luck!

4. niconic

niconic Active Member

what I think is crucial is the tuning...
    some drummers are not great at this job, then again its a question of taste...

5. Kurt Foster

Kurt Foster Distinguished Member

At the risk of starting a flame with my good friend Rod…, :D as a producer, I would not use a drummer on a second session if they were not receptive to my suggestions on the first session.