1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Between Sonar or Cubase what would you choose and why?

Discussion in 'Cubase' started by audiokid, Nov 19, 2008.

1. audiokid

audiokid Staff

This may have been discussed recently, however, I would like very current opinions on which software to go with today.

I'm adapting to PC and additional software other than PT which I've been using for 10 years on a Mac.

Between Sonar or Cubase what would you choose and why?

I have a choice on 32 bit or 64 bit system.
    I want the scoring feature of cubase but if sonar out performs cubase, sonar would be my choice. I'm looking for stability and quality. Either platform will be new to me, including PC, so it has nothing to do with what I am used to. Its all new to me.

Thanks in advance!

2. audiokid

audiokid Staff

I should add a few more points

, this new system is for composing, and heavy midi production. if it was a good tracking system to boot, I would be even happier.
    Ultimately I will be teaching my oldest child the world of digital audio production.

3. RemyRAD

RemyRAD Well-Known Member

Not sure if I should respond to this?

While I'm a user of neither, I have been exposed to both. I nearly called the cops on 'em fer that but I digress....

I'de be more incliened to go with the Steinberg/YAMHA product. From Cubase you can tightly intigrate to NUENDO & back. Yamaha will be around longer in the end I would also imagine?

Cakewalk is well just a plain Cakewalk. Look out for all that sticky iceing. You don't want to time slip.

Time keeps on Slippin' slippin' slippin' into the future.............
    Ms Remy Ann David

4. MrEase

MrEase Active Member

I don't agree with Remy on this one. Cubase (V4) no longer supports DX effects or instruments and from what I have read, technical support is something you can forget with Steinberg.