1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

BIG MISTAKE, HELP!!!!!

Discussion in 'Recording' started by supercharry, Jul 26, 2005.

  1. supercharry

    supercharry Guest

    HElp! I was removing some files from a PT session and pressed DELETE instead of REMOVE, what was I thinking...........

    Is there anything I cand do about it, or do I need to record again?

    Thanks
     
  2. Kev

    Kev Well-Known Member

    ouch
    go to your backups ....
    :shock:
    sorry
    you wouldn't be here if it were that easy
    :wink:


    I think you will need disk and file recovery tools
    it's a geek thing
    if this is material is very important then seek it might bebetter to seek experienced help

    if you have continued to record or use the hardrive, then things could be bad
     
  3. jdsdj98

    jdsdj98 Active Member

    Ouch. That is bad.

    There was recently an excellent thread regarding file managment in PT here:

    (Dead Link Removed)

    Of course, it sounds like it's a little too late for the advice there, but hopefully it helps you out in the future. I'll bet you never lose another vital file in PT as a result of this. I've always been of the opinion that unless you are running out of disk space (in which case your issue is hard drive capacity, NOT the PT session's files/too many takes), you shouldn't remove or delete a single file until the finished product is in your hands or those of a paying client. As proficient as I believe that I am at file management, I do not trust myself well enough to risk losing something that can't be replaced. That's playing with fire. PT is designed to keep track of your files for you and keep the (software) session running smoothly. Having 18 bad takes still on the drive isn't a bad thing, since you may need to grab a really small snippet of one of those to smooth an edit in the final take. Just my VHO.

    As Kev suggested, you'll need some disk utility/restore application to retrieve deleted data. Others here may have specific suggestions for those. Check into the DAW section of RO. If this is your own material, and you are unable to retrieve the files, yes, you will have to re-record the tracks. If this is a client's project, the client will have to re-record the tracks. That's a tough situation to be in.

    Good luck.
     
  4. supercharry

    supercharry Guest

    Thanks guys, Im used to REMOVE! files if not used anymore. The problem here was that I created a backup session but wanted to REMOVE the unused files (in the new session), I ended DELETING some needed material, It wasn't gone completely but under the cirsumstances the files left wont be good at all without the ones missing. Therefore bu DELETING the files, the main Session appeared to miss the files as well..........

    Im recording 7 drum tracks for a project and if re-recording is needed, the mic placement wont be exactly the same as it was before so its going to sound different..............

    As Kev said, Ill seek for some geek help.

    Thanks
     
  5. Kev

    Kev Well-Known Member

    :cry: :cry: :cry:
    can't sleep clown will eat me
    can't sleep clown will eat me

    I think you are in trouble

    this is one of those D'OH !! situations.

    the video boys used to working on multi user media drives know about deletions from one session effecting other sessions

    it is all from one set of media files
    :cry:

    I feel your pain

    Use the force Luke
    ... to position those mics in exactly the same places

    good luck
     
  6. supercharry

    supercharry Guest

    I know that by deleting the main session of course will be affected, It just happened without any purpose, without noticing, just pressed the wrong button.

    Ill better start over again.................... :( :(

    As you might see its 5:20am, therefore, I cant sleep because a clown's going to eat me!!
     
  7. jdsdj98

    jdsdj98 Active Member

    What about that little notice PT gives you saying:

    "The file 'Kick1' will be deleted from the disk. Gone forever. Are you sure?"

    or something like that. Did you heed the warning or just click through all of those?
     
  8. supercharry

    supercharry Guest

    hi there, Everytime your deleting a file from the project browser it will ask you, REMOVE or DELETE. Pressed the wrong button. Deleting=Completely gone!
     
  9. Kurt Foster

    Kurt Foster Distinguished Member

    No undo commands in PT? ? How about revert to saved file? Cubase has them. :roll:
     
  10. supercharry

    supercharry Guest

    I dont know if you can undo that kind of actions, its too late anyway............ :(
     

Share This Page