1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

College Dilemma: How to prepare for the business

Discussion in 'Studio Lounge' started by joesmithsonian, Dec 14, 2007.

1. Hey I'm a high school student getting ready for college. I've been accepted to both NYU's Steinhardt music business program and Columbia. Simply put, I love music. I've studied music since I was 5. I also love business. Therefore, I'd like to get involved in the music business. So the big question: should I go to Columbia and get a sturdy liberal arts education? Or, perhaps should I get specialized training for the music business at NYU's Steinhardt? I'd be happy in both situations. Also note: Doug Morris, arguably the most powerful person in the music industry, is a Columbia grad. Hmmm...

Thanks.

2. Firstly, I think you need to determine what type of job you want to do in the music business before you make any decisions. This choice will be a very critical one to your future career so look at all your options. Also, I wouldn't decide on where to go based on someone else's background education, regardless of how powerful they appear.

If you love music, why would you want to do a course on liberal arts? Would something more music related not be more appropriate?

3. taxman

taxman Active Member