1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Computer Audio Setup: Is this clipping?

Discussion in 'Computing' started by ArizonaBay, Jul 21, 2009.

1. ArizonaBay

ArizonaBay Guest

I am relatively new to audio recording and am trying to record vinyl records to my computer (a Mac).

I have a distortion problem that at first I thought was clipping, but now I am not sure. When the audio gets particularly loud or high-pitched, fuzzy distortion occurs. I tried adjusting the gain, but that did little. I even watched the input and made sure there was plenty of headroom while recording one side of an album, and in a few spots the distortion still appeared.

Is this an issue with the levels, will gain adjustment or equalization work? Or could this be a hardware/setup issue?

A few problems that may have led to this, and have came from it:

I bought an iMic, a $50 usb microphone and line, which came with software called Final Vinyl (for Mac), and came with Audacity. When I plug in the iMic and record, there is static that starts out nearly impossible to hear, but grows to be extremely loud. I have tried a few things to fix that recommended elsewhere (checking Apple MIDI Setup), but nothing fixed it.

That caused me to just try to use the default audio-input (3.5mm) on the back of the computer. I don't know if this is what is causing the problem, but that's my general setup. Cheap, I know, but if it is what is causing the problem, worth changing.

Also, the problem persists in both Audacity and Final Vinyl. (Would GarageBand be of any use here?)

Another problem: Most likely due to me screwing with the gain to try to get rid of the fuzz, the audio ends up thin and tinny. Could that be fixed by fixing the fuzz problem, or is the best thing that I can do to mess with the equalizer (bass boost?).

2. Guitarfreak

Guitarfreak Well-Known Member