1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Copyright of worship songs

Discussion in 'Studio Lounge' started by rois, Jun 8, 2007.

1. rois

rois Guest

Hi all,

a question to all those who have been around the block for a while :)

If a church was to record and produce a cd but songs aren't original, would they be breaking the copyright law if it was to be distributed free of charge to their own congregation maybe to celebrate special occasions? eg xmas, easter

I mean, I am sure by recording the song would already be breaking the copyright law, but is there such thing (for church anyway) its ok as long as they are not profiting. And from a few people I spoke to including some pastors, they claimed that as long as you don't profit and you put in a line "for own use" you will ok...

Comments welcome :)

2. BobRogers

BobRogers Well-Known Member

I'm not a lawyer, and am not sure of this, but my understanding is that you would be breaking the copyright laws if you are recording a praise band and distributing to the congregation. Everything I've read indicates that you have to pay the "mechanical" royalty to the publisher. The fact that you are not making a profit does not put you in the clear any more than the people going to jail for distributing songs over Napster.

Many publishers of worship music have a relatively easy system to do this, and it's not that much money. If you are a member of CCLI (and if you are playing contemporary praise songs during worship, you should be) they have links to the publishers.

3. EricIndecisive

EricIndecisive Active Member