1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

CPU vs. Digital Recorder

Discussion in 'Pro Audio Equipment' started by Pujee, Mar 30, 2005.

1. Pujee

Pujee Guest

I have been reasearching for about 2 months now and after pretty much deciding on a Dual 1.8GHz Power Mac (I would add about a gig of ram), an Mbox w/ProTools, and probably Reason, someone has turned me onto the idea of just getting a nice digital recorder instead.

I don't have a band as of now, just me and my guitars. This makes percussion sort of an issue, because I don't have someone to actually play drums (or anything for that matter), but if I had Reason or a drum program, I could add some nice backing to my tunes.

What are your thoughts/concerns? What brands or models of digital recorders would you recommend? I have been checking some like the Roland VS2000CD 18-Track Digital Studio out. Thanks so much.

2. ShellTones

ShellTones Guest

I believe computers are superior: more power, more options, and more versatility. Some folks like the all-in-one-units, though. I don't.

3. maintiger

maintiger Well-Known Member

get the computer- you'll be much happier in the end

4. frob

frob Well-Known Member

a computer will really do you better, though i do a have a question. what if any computer knowlage or experiance do you have?

5. Pujee

Pujee Guest

I have lots of computer experience. In respects to recording programs I guess I don't have that much...but I know what I am doing for the most part. More than the average person, less than someone who works on computers as a living.

6. maintiger

once you get your chops in a recording program you'll be amazed of all the great things you can do... I had a roland box back in the nineties, the vs880 and was never happy with it- struggling over a little display and the sound was kinda squashed. Im sure those things are better now but there is nothing like a daw!

7. Motske