1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Crackling, Vibrato, and "Underwater" Sounds When R

Discussion in 'Recording' started by patriick02, May 12, 2009.

1. patriick02

patriick02 Guest

Hi,

I am a bit of noob when it comes to recording, but I am very confused by my issue...

I am trying to record my acoustic guitar using Music Creator 5 and a SM57 mic.

I tested the mic levels and it does not appear they are clipping, although they sometimes look a little low. I tried different buffer values and bit rates, but neither solved my problem.

Everything I record plays back sounding choppy, distorted, and like I am under water.

I have checked my drivers and am not having any trouble playing things back in other programs (i.e. iTunes). Stranger still is that if I talk into the mic, as opposed to recording my guitar, it sounds normal when I play it back, but there is some crackling.

Anyone have an idea what might be causing this?

My laptop specs are:

HP G60T-200CTO Pavillion Notebook
    Intel Core 2 Duo P7450 @ 2.13GHz
    L1 2x 32kB
    L2 Cache : 3MB
    Mainboard : Wistron 3617
    4GB DDR2 800Mhz Memory

Audio Device : HP (ICH9) HD Audio Controller
    Audio Codec : Conexant Systems High Definition Audio

2. Codemonkey

Codemonkey Well-Known Member

You're plugging a dynamic mic (low output) into an onboard soundcard.
    This will never work.

Onboard soundcards are for playback, gaming and Skype-esque headsets.

3. patriick02

patriick02 Guest

Ohhh... That kinda stinks... So the only solution is to get a better sound card?

4. Codemonkey

No.

You need a preamp.
    These can be bought standalone so you plug them into your existing soundcard - but this is like buying a Humvee with bike tyres.

The ideal solution is to buy an interface which has a preamp on it and that removes your soundcard from the equation.

What interface to get?