1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Dedicated Servers for Music Business

Discussion in 'Recording' started by sbray, Feb 3, 2008.

?

Do you use a Dedicated Server for your Music Biz?

1. yes

100.0%
  2. no

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. sbray

sbray Guest

I am curious to know how many music business professionals are utilizing dedicated servers for their business. I am a music business owner, but I've also gotten involved in a new industry that is connected to the music business by way of streaming audio, video, uploads, downloads, artist websites, EPK's, etc... Dedicated Servers.

Please respond and let me know if you use a dedicated server in your business and how you are using it. Thanks!

2. MadMax

MadMax Well-Known Member

I what regard are you referring to dedicated servers?

There's several types... e.g. email, file, ftp, web, apache, sql/oracle????

I run several dedicated boxes and servers... I also have several 3rd party servers and services.

How are you doing your streams? Are you strictly on an outbound fileserve operation and/or are you doing a capture of external streams?

What about replication and backup ops? Any mirroring?

What's your bandwidth usage and connection? T1, T2, T3???

sorry to answer your question with 200 more questions......

3. audiokid

audiokid Staff

RO is obviously on one. Its been a learning curve. I'm interested in this question well.

4. sbray

sbray Guest

Presently, for my own music business, I use 3rd party servers for email, file transfers, websites, etc... I recently came on board with Sago Networks and I'm learning about the datacenter industry. I am getting my own dedicated server to guarantee a faster upload/download speeds.