1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

extra tracks

Discussion in 'Recording' started by logamos2001, Apr 13, 2005.

  1. logamos2001

    logamos2001 Guest

    so i guess it called like the audio window or something on the right in pro tools that has ur tracks listed. i have a bunch of unnceccesary tracks just taking up space over there. what do i do with all these? there are tracks that worked with a while ago that i have no use for! why would i want all these takes and what not?
     
  2. Dan_Pence

    Dan_Pence Guest

    I think you're talking about unused audio regions that you're seeing in the audio regions bin. If this list of unused regions is really bugging you, you can "select unused regions" and then "clear selected", but be careful when you clear selected - you have two options, "remove" or "delete". I would suggest selecting "remove" unless you're absolutely positive that you won't be needing these audio files ever again, because "delete" permanantly deletes the audio off your hard drive.

    Personally, I leave all my regions, used and unused in my regions bin until the end of my project. Then, I'll do a "save session copy in" to make a complete back up copy of my project in another place. After I save a copy, I'll go in and do all my clean up work - consolidate, removed unused regions, etc. After I've done all this, I'll do another save session copy in for archiving purposes.

    If you're talking about "tracks", unused tracks can be deleted by selecting "delete selected tracks" under the File menu, or they can be individually hidden using the show/hide menu (that's the list of tracks in the upper right hand corner). You can highlight a track to show it or un-highlight it to hide it.

    Hope this helps.
    ~dp
     
  3. logamos2001

    logamos2001 Guest

    well also with the files on the left, some are highlighted some arent. i mean, there are files that i dragged into the project and then deleted, and now im just stuck with them on the side. also with files i have no idea what to do with. so ur saying i just leave all these take up the space they want until im done with the whole project?
     
  4. BigTrey

    BigTrey Active Member

    Hey dude, on the left of your screen are your tracks (look at the name of the tracks in the edit view, and look at the list on the left, the names should be the same). If you want to get rid of one of the tracks in the list on the left highlight the name of the track in the edit window; go to file and select "delete selected tracks" If you want to get rid of an unused file in the list on the right highlight the name that you want to get rid of (in the list on the right, not on the edit board) and then right click and select "delete selected". I hope this helps a little.
     
  5. logamos2001

    logamos2001 Guest

    god im dumb. ya i meant the files on the RIGHT side of the screen. im dumb. ya. thank u. i just can highlight them and clear em. thanks alot. but it doesnt let me right click the file in the window. i have to select it andd then go to the top of the window and right click that. o well. THANKS!
     
  6. Dan_Pence

    Dan_Pence Guest

    It's not absolutely neccessary to delete unused regions until you're done with your project. Unless a region is a Whole File, it really doesn't take up all that much space, as it's just a "pointer" file to the original audio "whole file".
     
  7. logamos2001

    logamos2001 Guest

    ya but those are linkerd to files that ake up lots of space
     
  8. Marching Ant

    Marching Ant Member

    if you notice that in the audio region bin, some are bold, and some aren't. The bold means that it is a whole audio file, and if you delete it (not clear or remove) then the audio will be gone from your HD, but before you do this, you need to make sure that you don't have any regions in the edit window that are referencing that audio file, because they won't play any audio if you take away the audio file they were referencing.

    BACKUP your session before you try any of this because (and i know from first hand experience) that you can accidently (and very easily) delete the audio you're using, and you will have to re-record it. Once you have verified that you did everything correctly, then you can delete the backup

    Also, a little advice, NEVER delete anything until you're 100% done with the session.
    you can do the "select unused regions" and "remove" (NEVER DELETE) safely without harming your session. but delete is very destructive and is not undoable.
     

Share This Page