1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Favorite headphones for tracking?

Discussion in 'Monitoring / Headphones' started by Marcus, Dec 2, 2005.

1. Marcus

Marcus Guest

I need to get about 4 pairs. Something affordable - what do you use and what do you like about it? Thanks guys,

Marcus

2. Calgary

Calgary Active Member

I use Fostex T20s. They deliver fantastic sound for the price. For wireless, my choice for the performers, I like Sennheisers, i.e. the R65s, you can add multiple headsets to one transmitter:
    http://www.audaud.com/audaud/MAR05/component/comp3.html

Those are budget items, if you have some dough then definitely test out the Sennhesier 650s if you can:
    http://www.digitalhome.com.au/Home_Audio_Visual/Headphones/Sennheiser/HD_650_HIGH_END_AUDIOPHILE_HIFI_STEREO_HEADPHONE/518

Caveat: I'm no audio expert, just a beginner. But I read up before I buy gear and I'm confident the info I've provided above is reasonably accurate. I've seen T20s used in some very big studios. :cool:

3. TimRP

TimRP Guest

Right now we are just using a set AKG K44's, cost us $18 at fullcompass. Not very clear, not very flat, but good enough for tracking. I would like to try one of those moreme headphones and see what they are like, they are only $20-$30.

4. FoundSounds

FoundSounds Guest

I use sennheiser hd280s, but the listening fatigue is quite bad.

5. HD280's.

I've never had a problem with developing listening fatigue from them quickly, but I also use them at low levels.

6. jonyoung

jonyoung Well-Known Member

AKG K100's......but I don't think they make them anymore. They're a bit on the bright side, but being a bassplayer, that's good for me. I have 6 pairs, no one's complained about them.

7. johnthemiracle

johnthemiracle Active Member

akg 271. they sound great and even switch themselves off as soon as you remove them from your head...

8. Hawkeye