1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Good drum mic set? And accoustic guitar recording

Discussion in 'Drums' started by Slavebell, Dec 9, 2008.

1. Slavebell

Slavebell Guest

Kick- AKG112D or Shure Beta52 ?
    Snare- 2x Shure sm57
    Toms- 3x Sennheiser MD 421
    Overheads- sE electronic SE1A stereo pair

Thats it.... Is there anything u suggest me to change? (sept sE mics coss i like tham).
    + im thinking to buy those sE reflection filters for drums... Does anyone have some experiance with tham?

Also im thinking to record acoustic guitar with 2 SE1A's or sm57's? What u think?

thx

2. Groff

Groff Active Member

Except what you like I think it's good choice. I would choose 52 over 112, but both are acceptable.

I have no experience with sE filters. IMO it's much better to DIY some real gobos to surround/tune the whole kit. You can use it also for vox and other acoustic instruments.

For acoustic guitar I would choose SDC pair over 57.

3. Slavebell

Slavebell Guest

Yeah sept sE1A only SDC i could get right now are behringer c2...
    Alot of people swear those are best mics for guitar they ever heard im not so shure... But than again 50$ for a pair...

4. loh90

loh90 Guest

don't sleep on the Audix D6 for kick. Audix i5 as well for snares (they sound better than SM57's and its built like a tank compared to the 57).

5. Groff

Groff Active Member

Then go with sE.

6. Groff

Groff Active Member

Audix are also very very good. I would say different, not better exclusively. Can't go wrong however.

Dude, If 57 isn't built like a tank, then what is? :shock:

7. Link555

Link555 Well-Known Member

I find the I5 to be a much brighter mic then the sm57. Both sound good, it just depends on what sound your going for. As for built like a tank...Sm57 is as rugged as it gets.

8. Slavebell

Slavebell Guest

Yeah i heard nice things bout i5 for snare...