1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Hello!! Advice for a beginner on A Home Setup :D

Discussion in 'Recording' started by Tyriall, Jun 26, 2011.

1. Tyriall

Tyriall Member

Jun 26, 2011
    Hi Guys.

I'm Mike. I am 22 & from Australia. As the Title might suggests I am new to the world of Audio engineering... Please be Kind :D I'm also not 100% sure this is the right place to post lol....It does say newbie so I will stick it in here for the moment...lol

SO I am now looking for a System that I can make into a recording SetUp.

It was suggested i sign up here and start asking questions rather than just over at Whirlpool.net.au

I have a 2009 Macbook Pro 15" which I lug around with me everywhere so I have some experience with GB and Logic(not alot) and Mac's.

I am looking for Permanent Setup. So using my Current MBP isn't really on the cards.

I have a Roland LX-10 Digital Grand Piano that I like to hook up to My laptop every now and then but I am looking for a More permanent Solution. I am a singer so I am also looking for a Small mixing Board/Interface that I can Plug a Microphone into and Go straight into ProTools/Logic.

When I Say Mixing board it is only because I like the idea of a Physical board to play around with :D

I want to record piano and 1-3 tracks of vocals at the same time.. Eventually I will invest in some drum mic's for my kit

Probably won't want use more that 16 tracks while I'm learning the tricks to the trade :)

Any suggestions on Boards/Interfaces and Mic's for Vocals?

I am Primarily a Music Theatre performer (Lyric Baritone)..But also train Classically. I sing Lots of Jazz Standards and Big ballads along with some up tempo stuff but do Not have the most Contemporary of voices....alot more on the Legit Side of things.

SO Far the only Mic to have been Suggested is the Rode NT2-A. Any other suggestions?