1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Help choosing microphone for beginner

Discussion in 'Microphones' started by davidpower, Jul 3, 2009.

1. davidpower

davidpower Guest

Hello,

I have been playing several woodwind instruments for a few years now and I have become increasingly interested in recording them to my computer, the idea of recording multiple parts and putting it all together fascinates me the problem is I don't have a microphone that will do it justice (currently using a desktop pc mic which sounds terrible) I'd love to get a better mic that captured the sound of my instruments with less noise. I don't want to buy anything expensive as this may be an interest that could only last a few months and if that's not the case then I will invest in a more expensive microphone,

Could you recommend a microphone I could use with my PC to get the best sound possible for between 50 to 100 Euro

Thanks for you help.
    Dave.

2. Codemonkey

Codemonkey Well-Known Member

I guess the simplest way is to get a USB mic. Samson make a few, along with others.

Or you could make a foolproof investment that you're guaranteed to want to keep, or if you don't wanna get knee-deep in recording, you could probably sell for the bulk of the price:
    1 x SM58
    1 x USB powered interface with 1 preamp.

(or, 1 USB mic with a view to get the SM58 if you decide to stick with it)

Software? Audacity or Kristal
    http://audacity.sourceforge.net/
    http://www.kreatives.org/kristal/

3. jammster

jammster Active Member

Remember that you not only have to get a microphone but you also have to amplify it.

Mic + Preamp = sound

Then you have to take your source signal (sound) and convert it to digital so that your computer can play them.

Then you must consider which software you will use to multitrack with your pc.