1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Help please for an old codger

Discussion in 'Recording' started by gerryrigley, Apr 16, 2013.

1. gerryrigley

gerryrigley Active Member

Hi all,
    Many years ago before retiring I was a professional photographer and part time DJ on a local radio station in Bath.

Then I had loads of gear, but managed to do all my mixing and editing on 'SOUND FORGE 5' which I found amazing and simple to use.

A couple of local hypnotherapist guys would ask me to produce their subliminal tapes for them individually made for each of their clients.

This I would be able to do on Sound Forge 5 with no problem.

I have just been contacted again by one of the guys to produce a few more, but it is now 15 years since I last did this and have forgotten how to compress the files down to a blip so that they become subliminal and are hidden behind a piano music track.

I am still using Sound Forge 5 as I have had no need to upgrade.

Can anyone just give me a gentle reminder on how to compress the files, I'm sure that as soon as I start reading any replies it will all come flying back.

Thank you for your time in reading this and hopefully someone a lot cleverer than me will help me out.
    Gerry, in S,Italy....

2. gdoubleyou

gdoubleyou Well-Known Member

Not really sure what you mean by compress?

There is a technique called ducking where you use a compressor sidechain to control volume relative to another signal.

Or is there some sort of encoding you're looking for?

3. gerryrigley

gerryrigley Active Member

======================================================================================================================================================

Hi
    Thanks for your reply.