1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Home recording and Hercules 16/12 FW - HELP?!

Discussion in 'Pro Audio Equipment' started by the_gid, Mar 31, 2005.

1. the_gid

the_gid Guest

Hi ..I am looking to set up my new laptop (powerbook G4 17") to be able to record my 3 piece punk band. I will be using Logic Express.

I want to be able to record drums with bass simultaneously before adding guitar/vocals etc..so...ie. 6-8 mics on drums..and one on bass guitar recording at the same time. - possibly recording a guide vocal track also at the same time.

will the Hercules 16/12 FW be able to do this for me? (http://europe.hercules.com/showpage.php?swcty=UK&p=91&b=1&f=1)

From what I've read it seems to be able to do the job..but it seems a great price for what I'm getting - which leads me to the question, is it any good?! (best price £389)

I am quite new to this semi-pro recording stuff... so I have a few other questions:

1. Is the Audio Interface plus mics+cables+ pro Software all I need essentially to do what I have specified above?

2. When recording drums..with the setup I have specified.. how do I set-up each drum sound individually before actually recording?..can I map each drum mic to its own individual channel on Logic Express, and mod the sound before recording from there?

that's it for now! any help would be MASSIVELY appreciated :wink:

2. composition4

composition4 Guest

Hi,

You'll need a few preamps to boost the signal as the Hercules only has preamps on two of its 12 analog inputs- you may want to look at multichannel preamp.

You'll find that if you want a half decent preamp/s, you're going to end up paying a lot more for them than the Hercules cost you.. but it's inevitable really, unfortunately.

Jonathan

3. the_gid

the_gid Guest

i already have a power amp which connects to our 12 channel mixer for our stage PA. Would this be of any use?