1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

$ How should I charge for recording sessions?

Discussion in 'Composing / Producing / Arranging' started by Aaron, Jan 27, 2016.

1. Aaron

Aaron Active Member

My primary business is photography and there are a plethora of ways to charge clients for certain projects. Time, per job, creative fees, etc, etc. It's a skill in and of itself to be able to properly charge for the value of ones work.

With that being said, and as a related note to think of charging fees for creative work, I will be recording a couple of musicians playing a duets of some music that I believe are their own compositions. I just learned that one of the musicians will use the recordings as part of a competition, and that got me thinking that perhaps this is something I should charge for, but I'm just not sure. I'm not a professional and this particular recording session will be the first time recording this type of setup, so it'll be a learning experience for me from the start.

Should I charge for this considering its' usage, or should I do this pro bono since I've never done anything like this before? If I should charge for it, can you recommend any ways to find a price to quote? What other information should I find out about the usage? Digital mp3 files, cd's made, etc. Maybe do the work for free but request to be credited on any materials created or websites the work would potentially be posted on?

In the photography industry, and I'm sure with all other professional creative work, it's generally not recommended to work for free, as that tends to drive the value of the industry down, but there are a variety of viewpoints about this. And for as many people are against working for free there are also some who do think it's a good idea for different reasons.

Thanks for any help with this.

Aaron

2. pcrecord