1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

I need some serious help.

Discussion in 'Recording' started by ialmostshotthem, Aug 6, 2009.

1. Hey there everybody! I am new to recording and I was wondering if you guys could help me.

I just got into serious recording. Before I would play with it here and there, but now Im trying to get at least one great sounding recording. I had a pretty low budget, but I play guitar, bass, drums, keyboard, and sing, and decided to start doing my own thing. So I got all my instruments and such in my room, and set up a DAW. Heres what I bought:

Mics:
    2 Shure SM57s (of course)
    CAD GXL2200
    CAD GXL1200

Interface:
    Tascam US-122L

running everything thru mixcraft 4 (since I hated cubase)

First off, I want to know can I make great quality recordings? Ive been going for days trying to figure out good mic placement, which mics to use and such, and with endless hours of mixing, and still cant get that sound. I feel Im on the verge of making one. Theres just something I can't quite put my finger on...

I need any tips I can get! If you guys want me to post recordings, I can do that, maybe you can help me out with what I need.

Thanka!

2. song4gabriel

song4gabriel Active Member

post audio clips.

3. IIRs

IIRs Well-Known Member

Read this thread: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=29283

4. Read that already, and it helped heaps, but not enough to apply to my specific stuff. It seems that he speaks pretty generally on everything, so its tough when he gives advice that isnt really an answer, but rather a statement showing the multiple possibilities of certain effects. Thanx tho!

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=bd5f720f98252988b94117dade8fc295e04e75f6e8ebb871

Theres a very quick and sloppy cover song.

I have trouble with recording good distortion tones, and good drums. Im gunna try the recorderman setup for drums tomorrow...