1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Is Google Adsense A Scam?

Discussion in 'Studio Lounge' started by Link555, Jan 29, 2008.


Has this Happen to you with your adsense?

  1. Yes

  2. No

    0 vote(s)
  1. Link555

    Link555 Well-Known Member

    Like a lot of websites, I decided to try Google adsense to see if it would actually work. I signed up added the HTML code to my site. And slowly very slowly, people clicked until my account reached $100 USD. $100USD is the amount Google needs to see, before they will send you a Cheque. Well I never got the Cheque; in fact Google cut me off the very week my earnings reached $100. Their reason was”

    While going through our records recently, we found that your AdSense account has posed a significant risk to our AdWords advertisers. Since keeping your account in our publisher network may financially damage our advertisers in the future, we've decided to disable your account.

    Please understand that we consider this a necessary step to protect the interests of both our advertisers and our other AdSense publishers. We realize the inconvenience this may cause you, and we thank you in advance for your understanding and cooperation.

    If you have any questions about your account or the actions we’ve taken, please do not reply to this email. You can find more information by visiting https://www.google.com/adsense/support/bin/answer.py?answer=57153&hl=en_US .
    The Google AdSense Team

    Anyway I am not very concerned, as I don't really like having the spam on my site anyway, and it was just a test. But it is a bit coincidental.

    I am curious if anyone else had the same experience?
  2. bent

    bent No Bad Vibes! Well-Known Member

    I don't use it, but that's wacky.

    So, basically they're saying (through the support link) that they believe you sat around clicking the ad banner or whatever the link is yourself, cheating their system, running the hits up...

    Wow. That's a bunch of BS.

    >Edit - I gotta clarify, if the hits on the ad were genuine, it's BS that you didn't get paid.
    Naturally, Google has to protect it's interests when it comes to hits that equate to such monetary payouts.
    I'm surprised they haven't implemented a script that only allows one hit per IP (I know many sites that do so for online voting).
  3. audiokid

    audiokid Staff

    exactly what Ben said. However, they have zero tolerance. If its your account, never click the links for that very reason. They track everything for a reason.

    Hey Link555, you are in PR... nice to learn I have someone close the headquarters of RO.
  4. mark_van_j

    mark_van_j Active Member

    From what I read, it doesn't even matter WHO clicks...

    Imagine that. You want somebody to get their account disabled? Just click on the link 50 times, every day!

    The least they could do is set up a one-hit script like bent mentioned.
  5. Space

    Space Well-Known Member

    Back in the late 1990's, if you recall, the search engines used to take a beating in the days of fast spidering of urls submitted.

    What was that one, superfast indexing, seconds sometimes, infoseek.com , that was it.

    Anyway pages would be spidered so fast you could submit a page designed for search engine placement, get top 10 or so placement, change the indexed page @ server level to resemble a "clean" page, preferably aimed at whatever keywords you would be found under.

    All in a matter of minutes sometimes!

    Search engine spam was what they called it ;) Those dogs :)

    So I ran a little procedure because I like you Link555.

    Did you know that between Google/ AOL/ and HotBot.com(s) your site has 8 EIGHT pages/links that represent your website.

    Yahoo!/ FAST/ and AltaVista, however, show a whoping 3-0-1-3 pages and or links that represent your website!!!

    Hear me out Link. Does that look lopsided, numerically, speaking to you? I bet it does to the google adsense sense makers too.

    But another "wtf?", most...MOST of the links/pages that represent you come from, none other then...right here at RO.

    I would plead my case with them if I were you. It is of no fault of your own that this situation is like it is. "Why is it lop-sided, who the heck knows, am I a search engine placement specialist?" You say to no one there.

    100 bucks is not to be given away if you have a fair work agreement.
  6. Link555

    Link555 Well-Known Member

    Hey thanks for the input guys! I am not too bummed about it, as it was estentially free money. It was more curiosity than anything.

    Hey Space- I have 8 pages that link to my site? wow isn't that a good thing? I guess those browsers finally crawled my way. The site has been up in one form or another for years. I am no expert in web marketing that’s for sure. Thanks for that!

    Hi audiokid- interesting I always thought PR was as far away as you could get? If you don’t mind me asking where are you located?

    Thanks again guys!
  7. audiokid

    audiokid Staff

    Link555, I'm in PG. the inland port to PR. How are things looking there now?
  8. Link555

    Link555 Well-Known Member

    Nice! you are close! Things are about -10c and our coal terminal is almost completely frozen. Its very cold for Rupert.
  9. Space

    Space Well-Known Member

    Yes that is a good thing, the only way to make the web work is to link to or have web pages in someones index.

    But even better is to have 3,013(three thousand thirteen) links pointing to your domain or web pages.

    Using link:http://www.steller-studios.com at yahoo produces a return of 2, 557. This includes your indexed pages AND links pointing to you.

    Everywhere else it is 27 pages indexed here, 64 pages indexed there. Your site is indexed at hotbot.com, google.com, webcrawler.com, altavista.com, aol.com, all the major players.

    Yahoo.com just produced an unusual response with the return of thousands of pages/links when everywhere else it is not as high. Not even close, s'all I'm saying. Maybe it is the way that links pointed to a website are handled.
  10. Link555

    Link555 Well-Known Member

    Very intersting info! Thanks for that! I had no idea the site had that many indexed pages.
  11. lejovit

    lejovit Guest

    I'm a webmaster and no they're not a scam. I know people who make thousands of dollars per month with adsense. However, they will close your account without warning for stupid reasons (usually because you violate SOME part of their TOS).

    I don't even use it anymore, I usually others like Yahoo Publisher Network and ValueClickMedia.

Share This Page