1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Midas Venice track for HIP HOP?

Discussion in 'Recording' started by jkung, Sep 16, 2003.

1. jkung

jkung Guest

I am a pop songwriter/programmer and occasional mixer. i sing too. my setup looks like this.

MPC 3000 - Drums and Samples
    Pair of Techs 1200 turntables - to sample from
    Triton Le
    Roland xp30
    Cheapo Behringer 604a? 4channel minimixer

G4 400mhz
    Digi 001
    RME Multiface
    MOTU Micro Express (midi)
    Software: PTle, DP 3.1, Reason 2.0

I am trying to organize my studio with a mixer but i have never done this before so i wanted to ask if i am missing anything. I am looking at a MIDAS VENICE 160.

Rode NT2 ---> Mono in Venice channel (2)
    001 6 indv. outs ---> 6 mono ins Venice
    001 2 master outs ---> (a) Stereo IN Venice
    Venice 2-8 indv. mono outs ---> Back in to 001 6 ins
    MPC stereo outs ---> 2 mono ins Venice
    Triton LE 2 stereo outs ---> (b) Stereo IN Venice
    Turtables 2 Stereo outs ---> (c) Stereo IN Venice
    XP 30 2 stereo outs ---> (d) Stereo IN Venice
    Venice 2 master B outs ---> 001 2 ins
    Venice 2 master ---> monitors
    Monitor 1+2 outs ---> MPC 2 ins (sample)
    PTle midi sync to MPC

The cool thing about the venice is, on the mono channel i can use mic and line at the same time. so i can plug the nt2 and the Right channel of my MPC at the same time.
    this set up allows me to sample from any of my instruments/MAC/Tables/etc. into my MPC or into the MAC. I can track and edit in protools and submix down to 6 channels back into the VENICE for summing and eqs.

Upgrades in the future might be ABLETON LIVE, a few RNCs, maybe an effects box, more guitar pedals. i have two auxs and two fx unused and every channel has insterts so i can buy more...

i just wanna know
    DOES THIS LOOK LIKE IT WILL WORK?