My Quiet Recordings

Discussion in 'Mastering' started by xX5thQuarterXx, Jan 6, 2008.

1. xX5thQuarterXx

xX5thQuarterXx Active Member

Hey guys.

Im not part of a pro studio or anything. Im just trying to get the best recording i can out of my home setup.

So this little irritation of mine is when i record and get a decent mix, but you play another studio qualiity song and the volume levels are way up its just really in your face compared to mine.

Can anyone point me in the right direction about how to fix this....i have a feeling its in the mastering process but i just dont see how i can get it lounder with out clipping.

thanks =)

2. Massive Mastering

Massive Mastering Well-Known Member

Yes, to a very large extent, it's part of the mastering process.

So if you go to a studio with a professional staff, track and mix there, then go to a professional mastering facility with a qualified engineer, you can be that loud too. Assuming the arrangements and core sounds allow it.

Making professional recordings doesn't happen by accident.

(Dead Link Removed)

3. rockstardave

rockstardave Active Member

of course he says that you have to have it mastered... he runs a mastering company

now, he's absolutely right. pro recordings dont just Happen. but the average hobbyist isnt willing to spend hundreds of dollars to be a little bit louder.

what can you do? you'll probably take some of the life out of your tracks, but you could use some compression.

4. Roidster

Roidster Guest

compression eq reverb

5. Michael Fossenkemper

Michael Fossenkemper Distinguished past mastering moderator Well-Known Member

Huh? reverb?

6. Cucco

Cucco Distinguished Member

Yeah...reverb...

Geez Mike - you don't know how to make your tracks louder with reverb??

Okay, this is how you do it:

Take your raw tracks and put it in an empty track in your DAW.

Patch the output of the DAW to an Aux Bus. We'll call this bus "Reverb" so as to avoid confusion...