1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Need HELP On Equipment Advice

Discussion in 'Recording' started by acousticman, Jan 29, 2005.

1. acousticman

acousticman Guest

Hello People... I am an acoustic guitarist who mostly does solo albums, but sometimes I do add orchestra type sounds to the mix. Usually I record in 2 to 3 tracks only. Coming from an 8 track digital recorder and found it a little limiting as far as the tracks are concerned. I'd like to move into the DAW computer realm. I do like the idea of some type of contol surface, but a mouse based system is not out of the question. I'd like to spend around $2000 or so. Here is what I own and would like to keep becuase it works for me.

Presonus MP20 2 channel preamp,
    Matched pair of Rhode NT 5 mics
    Event Project Studio 6 Powered Monitors
    AKG K240 headphones
    Yamaha synth
    Pentium 4 1.8 processor with 1 Gig of Ram

Some of the units I am considering are:

Tascam 1884 control surface
    Motu 1896HD
    Presonus Firepod
    Mackie Universal Control

Facts I think I know:
    I've heard that the Motu system works better with a Mac.
    The FW 1884 works ok with a PC
    With my present computer, I really don't have a lot of computing power, but was told I could get away with it with my present setup for my intended use.
    I will get another external drive to run the audio side of things -
    looking at the glyph.

I am looking to get the most pro sound I can and the most problem free set up without latency problems, booting problems, etc. I am a musician first - not a producer. Based on the facts above, I really need to know a complete and user friendly set up to get me on my way with recommended software. I am not opposed to going the Apple route versus PC either. Probably could pick up a reconditioned G4 pretty cheap. Any and all help and comments would be greatly appreciated.
  2. DaveRunyan