1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Neumann pop killer??

Discussion in 'Microphones' started by Big K, Jan 31, 2011.

1. Big K

Big K Well-Known Member

Has any of you ever tried this pop screen by Neuman?

NEUMANN PS 87 - Thomann UK Cyberstore

I am just asking, 'cause one was offered to me for a more reasonable price
    and I have never used that before...

2. audiokid

audiokid Staff

Something tells me the wide trim around it , not good.

3. Jeemy

Jeemy Well-Known Member

Yeah the untrimmed Royers are so cheap, why use anything else. I have a Rode which is similar to this but tapered, and I swear you can hear the metal edges.

4. audiokid

audiokid Staff

2 thumbs up on the Royer PS-101

5. Big K

Big K Well-Known Member

Not good was my first impression, also.
    But, .. does that look/sound like Neumann?

I still hope for someone chipping in who uses that ( wallet- ) buster.

6. Link555

Link555 Well-Known Member

I have one, it came with my u87ai kit. Never use it, I found it sits to close to the mic and was ineffective. I like my old nylon popper stopper better.

7. Big K

Big K Well-Known Member

So, there actually is a piece of Neumann gear that is bad...
    lol..
    Thanks for telling me.
    Better, I stick to my Pauly filter and buy a few crates of strong brew, instead.

8. moresound

moresound Active Member

You would think that with all the research that they do at Neumann that this item didn't fall through the cracks.

I mean they are out there for sale ..... <shrug>

You can always try it out for your self ~ 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE!!!

9. audiokid

audiokid Staff

I see Blue Microphones makes these too, and they look oddly very similar :
    Long & McQuade - Blue Microphones Universal Clamp-On Pop Filter

10. song4gabriel

song4gabriel Active Member

oh man dont tell me there is a difference between brands and styles of pop filters now.....