1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

New PC-Based Studio: Multiple Track Recording?

Discussion in 'Recording' started by TIGR, Apr 10, 2008.

1. TIGR

TIGR Guest

Hi folks, I'm new here and just setting up a small recording studio. I build computers for a living and thus will be setting up a PC-based recording rig. I have a couple Blue Snowball mics but would like to use an assortment of regular (XLR, not USB) mics as well. I would like to be able to record into multiple track editing software on my PC. I have the option to buy a Yamaha MG16 mixer at a great price but I am not sure how to get each mic recording to an individual track. I don't want to just single track recording ... I'd like to have one track for each mic and be able to edit each individually later as my ears and taste in sound are extremely picky. As I understand it, the typical way to connect a mixer to a PC is connecting a single mixer output to the sound card's line in jack ... doing that, I would end up with a single track containing everythign recorded, which is not what I want.

Is the MG16 useless in my situation? The only reason I'm very interested in using it if I can is that my funds are limited and I can get a great deal on one.

I saw there are some XLR to USB adapters available and read that their quality is decent (so I could directly connect and record each mic into its own track)... but at $100+ per mic ... it's not feasible for the number of mics I may find myself using simultaneously.

I have been doing a lot of reading and apologize if my questions are dumb ... but I did use the search and didn't find an answer. Thanks for your time!

2. basilbowman

basilbowman Guest

Aw bugger, we really need a beginner's guide, hang on, lemme google something up...Ah, here we go.

http://www.acousticfingerstyle.com/ComputerRecording1.htm