1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

newbie question about mic connections

Discussion in 'Pro Audio Equipment' started by griffiti, Sep 2, 2004.

1. griffiti

griffiti Guest

I am new to this forum. I've been reading it for a couple of weeks now. I apologize for asking this question if it has already been addressed. My search was unsuccessfull.

I am looking at buying the MOTU 828mkII audio interface. In addition to the 2 XLR mic/line inputs in front, it offers 8 1/4" inputs in back. Ok, now the question...

If I want to hook up more than 2 mics at once, would I just need to get some XLR to 1/4" couplers ?

I know this is a simple/stupid question but I'm a beginner. Thanks! :oops:

2. jonyoung

jonyoung Well-Known Member

I'm not familiar with the MOTU stuff, but the upshot is you want to use a low impedance input for a mic, otherwise you won't have enough gain to work with. 1/4" inputs are generally high Z. You'd be best off buying a fourway or larger mic preamp and feeding the outputs of that into your available 1/4" inputs, assuming they can be set to line level.

3. David French

David French Well-Known Member