1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Oktava mics for grand piano?

Discussion in 'Piano' started by gianlu5080, Dec 12, 2006.

1. gianlu5080

gianlu5080 Active Member

Mar 11, 2005
    Home Page:
    I mainly record classical chamber music (recitals in theatres and auditorium with very good acoustics) and I'm very proud of the results: by now I used a Neumann km183 spaced pair in A-B recording technique through a Motu Traveler (preamp, AD converter and audio card all in a box) connected to an Apple powerbook (recording at 48KHz 24 bit).
    I'm also a professional pianist and usually record my piano recitals using the above configuration: the problem is that in churchs often the acoustic is too reverberant, and so I plan to add some cardioids for close-miking.
    Initially I considered Neumann KM184 stereo pair, but I've read opposite reviews, and by now I'm switching toward Oktava mics, mainly MK-012 stereo set or MK-011 stereo set or MK-319 stereo set (and this with eventual modification).
    What do you choose for close or semi-close classical grand piano miking, guys? Are there other options to consider?
    Let me know your opinions.........

2. hughesmr

hughesmr Guest

Gefell M300. :cool:
  3. zemlin

zemlin Distinguished Member

Sep 4, 2004
    Indianapolis, IN
    Home Page:
    I was sitting in on a studio session a while back (my Daughter's choir was recording). I'm not a big fan of that studio's work, but the piano sounded ->great<- !

Gefell M300s. The recording engineer said those mics were iffy on a lot of sources, but rocked on piano. Out of my price range at this point ... but someday ...
  4. hughesmr

hughesmr Guest

The best price I found was from Mercenary Audio in Mass. Give Fletcher a call...