Output volume

Discussion in 'Mastering' started by logamos2001, Jul 19, 2005.

1. logamos2001

logamos2001 Guest

allright to in pro tools le when i want to bounce to aiff, what do i do to get the correct volume on output. i have my sessions master fader almost clipping. but then the outcome is super quite. i know for fact u dont NEED to hire a damn mastering person to do such. so what, do i bounce, make a new session and then volume it up t here? what do i do?

2. Massive Mastering

Massive Mastering Well-Known Member

If you "know for a fact" that you don't need to hire a mastering engineer, you need to learn to master yourself.

I seriously don't recommend learning on tracks that you're intimately familiar with.

But if you want to get it "loud" (not "good" - just "loud") you can just ram it into a limiter until it starts to fall apart. You certainly wouldn't be the first.

Doing it for yourself for demo purposes and such isn't too big a deal. If it's something for public release, IMHO, you shouldn't take the chance. I don't even master my own mixes. It's totally self-defeating.

But if "loud" is what you're after, try a limiter and see what happens.

3. JSRockit

JSRockit Guest

What are some general settings for the "brickwall" limiting I keep reading about?

4. Michael Fossenkemper

Michael Fossenkemper Distinguished past mastering moderator Well-Known Member

A brickwall limiter doesn't generally have general settings.

If you have to ask how to get a mix loud (and good sounding) then you probably do need a mastering engineer.

5. JSRockit

JSRockit Guest

I understand I could use a mastering engineer, but since I am not making money off my music...I am just trying to understand what I am doing wrong and how to fix it.

6. TrilliumSound

TrilliumSound Active Member