1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Professional Recording of a Phone Call for Marketing

Discussion in 'Recording' started by Mike177, Oct 22, 2007.

1. Mike177

Mike177 Guest

I am a complete newbie. I want to make demo of my new phone service, so I can advertise it online. I would greatly appreciate someone pointing me in the right direction... do I need software to do this; do I need a professional to make this recording; do I need some hardware?

Basically, I own a website and a phone service. Think of it as a "talking house tour" that home shoppers access by calling my toll free number. The challenge is that I now need to make a demo of this service online, so I need a recording of what it sounds like when you call the service. I tried calling it via Skype and recording it using software called Pamela, but the file size was 17 MB (yikes!) and when that was compressed the sound quality was horrible. I also asked a technical friend to try it (he is not a sound guy) and he sent me an ok quality recording that was about 2 MB. What I want is a high quality recording of a specific 3:30 minute phone call that will result in around a 3 MB file. This seems possible since this is around the file size of my MP3s of a similar length.

Is this possible? Any suggestion from the experts out there on how to do this for a reasonable cost?

I great appreciate any help someone might provide.

Many thanks,
  2. Link555

Link555 Distinguished Member

Mar 31, 2007
    North Vancouver
    I think you might want to consider hiring a small voice over studio. Do you have actors lined up?
  3. RemyRAD

RemyRAD Guest

Sep 26, 2005