1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

Specific drum overhead question (with my UA 2108)...

Discussion in 'Room & Overhead' started by Bhennies, May 27, 2004.

1. Bhennies

Bhennies Guest

Hi...this is my first post, and I just wanted to start out by saying that this site is a fantastic resource. However, I searched the old threads, and still couldn't quite get an answer to my question. So here goes:

I am just getting into recording drums, and I already have a beta-52 for the kick, a few sm-57's, and a BLUE berry mic (mostly for vox). I am looking for a pair of small diaphragm condensers to go through my Universal Audio 2108 pre as overheads, and then I was going to run the beta 52 and sm57 (kick and snare) through the 002 rack pres (yuk, but what can I do). I was not looking to spend a lot of cash on these, so I was looking at the studio projects c4's (i love the price!), but I'm wondering if I should just cough up the money and step up to something midrange (AKG c451, Shure SM*! territory). I have ZERO experience with small-diaphragm condensers so any help is much appreciated.

Here's the sound I'm trying to achieve: My kit is a mahogany 1959 vintage Ludwig (mid size kick, 22", i believe (as you can tell I'm not a drummer). I am very much into old dub records and such, but I want a crisper sound on the cymbals (not so muddy or muffled)- I want the hihats and ride (zildjian mastersound 13" and custom dry ride--K-ride) to really sound sharp and crisp, but not overboard. I will most likely be adding other drum sounds on top of the live kit (I produce down-tempo- dub-jazzy-hip hop beats).