1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

The Brick

Discussion in 'Pro Audio Equipment' started by the_gid, Jun 6, 2005.

1. the_gid

the_gid Guest

I've read so much stuff from all the great guys here at RO about having good mic pre's - and have seen so many people approving of 'the brick' that I was thinking about getting one.

I currently run a G4pbook 1.67GHz with a Presonus Firepod -

was wondering how I would hook such a mic pre up with my system - if it's possible??

Cheers - im still fairly new to this stuff
  2. Grooveteer

Grooveteer Guest

Hi the_gid,

I think that your Firepod has inserts. If that is the case then I would use these. (the return, not the send) You don't want to run your signal through another pre, so you have to make sure you bypass the ones in your firepod. (Line-in would also work, but it could be that the line-ins are just mic pres with a pad to make it line level. I'm not sure as I don't know much about the firepod.)

You might want to do a search, I'm pretty sure that Kurt has posted something about the best way to hook up a Brick.

I use the inserts on my Tascam FW1082 and I'm happy with the sound.

Good luck.

FWIW: I'm thinking of buying another Brick. I likes 'em! :twisted:
  3. the_gid

the_gid Guest

ok cheers... i'll have a better rummage on the forums!
  4. blaumph2cool

blaumph2cool Active Member

May 2, 2005
    Portland, OR
    I have a Firepod and a Brick and i run it like this MIC>FIREPOD>DAW

The Firepod's preamps are very transparent so i have never used the insert technique. the Brick makes even some of my cheaper mics sound good.

5. the_gid

the_gid Guest

so mic>firepod line in (on the front?)>lineout (on the back) to the Brick...??? how do you get the signal from the brick to your DAW??

i don't understand - please be very detailed! :wink:
    thanks very much
  6. Grooveteer

Grooveteer Guest