1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

This newb needs some basic gear

Discussion in 'Recording' started by H0bgawblin, Jul 11, 2010.

1. H0bgawblin

H0bgawblin Guest

I am familiar with forums, and I know that the newbs newb always asks a question to general to be treated seriously. Well, I am a newbs newb when it comes to recording and creating digital music. So I am sorry for the general question I'm about to ask.

I am a student of music. I sing, and compose. I wanted to create a portfolio in hopes of getting work as a composer. I want to buy a basic set up with finale, some mixing software, and a 88 key controller.

I would like to stick to pc just based on price, but if that's not a good idea I'd like to know.

The whole point I'm trying to get to, is that I have no idea what to get in order to create symphonic works on a computer that are high in quality. I can read and write music just fine, but I've been told mixing and recording software is still necessary.

If someone could give me a link with decent info that would supply a direction for me. Or if someone knows what questions I need to ask, that would be fantastic.
    My current budget is $3,000 US. That's a lot of money for me and I REALLY don't want to buy a set up and find out it's not what I need. Any advice would be massively appreciated.

2. HaHallur

HaHallur Active Member

Sounds like you dont need alot of preamps, would you record anything else besides singing ? (excluding midi)

You say you'd like to spend 3000 dollars and get nice symphonic works... software can be really expensive and you could spend 3 grand quickly on VST instruments.
    In that price range i'd go with either Native Instruments Kontakt 4, 380$ or Komplete 6 (Kontakt 4 + alot of other stuff) 500$, it has amazing symphonic instruments and choirs as well, awesome for that kind of money.