1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

vocals mics

Discussion in 'Vocals' started by mixfactory, Nov 14, 2001.

1. mixfactory

mixfactory Guest

Just wondering what you guys are using. I just realized today I've been using the same two for the last 9 years(Neve 1073 or Api 312). Once in a while I tried different things(Manley,Fearn,Avalon,Focusrite), but its funny I always come back to these two. I guess I was wondering if you had the same experience. I'm thinking of trying something new again and was wondering what are some pres people are using on vocals.

2. atlasproaudio

atlasproaudio Active Member

I have been liking the Millennia Media STT-1 lately. API is always a staple.

3. anonymous

anonymous Guests

TLA EQ1 :)

4. miketholen

miketholen Guest

Telefunken V76s
    Helios
    :w:

5. Scott Gould

Scott Gould Active Member

Crane Song Spider & Peavey VMP-2 (don't knock it 'til you try it - all tube signal path from Audio Media Research). The Spider has taken the place of the Flamingo - it doesn't have the "iron" switch, but it does have the tape saturation like the HEDD.

Scott

6. drumsound

drumsound Active Member

Manlev VoxBox is doing it for me on the voice. It's a good rock sound. I haven't tried the Drawmer 1969 for voice yet. It's nice on acoustic bass guitar.

7. miketholen

miketholen Guest

haven't heard the manlev voxbox yet but I have heard the manley version and it leaves MUCH to be desired.
    like everything that makes a great tone.
    I would love to hear about the manlev version though. :w:

8. atlasproaudio

LOL! The Manlev is the east Russian version when the company split into two after WWII.

9. regisfunk

regisfunk Guest