1. Register NOW and become part of this fantastic knowledge base forum! This message will go away once you have registered.

YEAH for the RIAA

Discussion in 'Studio Lounge' started by RecorderMan, Jul 29, 2003.

1. RecorderMan

RecorderMan Distinguished Member

Well YOU may not like it.
    But I make my living solely from recording. I'm raising a family doing it. So ANYTHING that might help curb illegal downloading (at this point) is fine by me.
    Stealing is wrong. Rationaliztion has become way too prevalent.

2. It is the theft of intellectual property as well- hurts artists. RM, are you reacting to a specific piece of info that has just come out, some new news? If so, post a link so I can check it out. Thanks, David

3. RD

RD Guest

RM is commenting on my remarks on the previous page...and I mean no disrespect to his role as a musician/producer...

However, my thoughts are meant to suggest a growth process to artists and the RIAA...we have to attack the problem of piracy (which I do NOT support by the way) on common ground...i.e., we all have a common interest...attacking our customers is not the high ground...we should instead educate them...and with the right social proscription against taking free copies of artists work, the public who is made up of decent people will respond by supporting us.

If bands like the Greatful Dead and others can build an empire on allowing informal trading of recordings of their shows, there might be a lesson in this for the rest of the industry...I am certain that, in the end, the legal efforts will fail to curb the file sharing. So, I suggest we consider winning the fight for our intellectual property by instead welcoming certain types of sharing...