Cuebase 5.1 writing to OS drive.

Kurt Foster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
Location
77 Sunset Lane.
Opus,
My computer is writing audio files to the OS drive instead of the "G" removable drive. Even when I select it to save song in the "G" drive the audio files get routed to the OS "C" drive. I have it a the shop being looked at but the guys there don't know a lot about Cubase. They said I should ask you waht to do. Any suggestions???
 

Opus2000

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2001
Ummm....that's odd!

I wonder if there's a preference in VST 32 that dictates this? Gosh, it's been a loooooong time since I played around with that program...and the funny thing is I just chucked my old dongle for that program! lol!

Who needs it when I have Cubase SX and Nuendo 2.0!

Opus :D
 

Opus2000

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2001
I guess so huh?!

I couldn't say why even when you start a project and you create the folder for the project to live in and it still writes the files to the OS drive?

I'm a bit baffled at that one...I know Cakewalk or Sonar has specific entries that you need to change but not VST 32!

I'm a bit confused on that one man!

Opus
 

MisterBlue

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2003
Don't know if this is any helpful as I am not really familiar with the program but I'll post anyway:

There is in other programs (e.g. Logic) a difference between where you store the "song file" and where the "audio files" are being stored. You have to specifically set the "recording path". Ideally (at least in my view) you generate a folder for all the audio files of one song and keep the "song file" in a central location where you can find all your songs (maybe organized by artist or album or whatever).

Anyway, the bottomline is that you might need to specifically set this "audio recording path" otherwise all audio files will likely be put in inconvenient places (like C: in your case) and even have totally useless names like "audio11.wav", "audio12.wav", etc ...

Hope this is somehow useful.

MisterBlue.
 

Opus2000

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2001
No, Cubase actually puts an Audio folder within the folder you direct the song to.

Before you can start a song any version of Cubase, it requires you to select a folder for the project to be stored in. That's where the audio folder is placed as well as the files.

I know that Cakewalk, as I mentioned above, had different folders for everything. This is what I always liked about Cubase as you aren't guessing where the entire project is located.

This situation is weird as I've never encountered this with this program.

I thought Logic did the same thing. Once you started a project it required you to select a folder to use?

Opus :D
 

MisterBlue

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2003
Basically yes. You have to specify where you want the recorded audio to go on the hard disk with Logic 5.5 - setting it once per song, which kinda makes sense, I guess.

I heard that Logic 6.x has a smart "Project Manager" now that takes care of a lot of those tasks.
I am unfortunately one of those poor slobs that (so far) refuse to pay 3x the price for an Apple computer vs. a PC so I am not allowed to play - Stuck with Ver. 5.5 and loving it :D .

MisterBlue.
 
Top