Effectron Jr. from Delta Labs?

P

Paladyne

Guest
Anyone ever use one of these? I just got one for super cheap, I figured I will get some sort of dirty flanger effect outa it by the looks.
 

AudioGaff

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2001
Location
Silicon Valley
Effectron units were one of the very first dedicated and affordable delay units made. I used many of the different units at one time or another mosly in PA FOH work. Limited delay time, and reduced bandwidth due to low sampling rate and 12-bit if I remember correctly. As an audio processor, it's junk.
 
P

Paladyne

Guest
I have found its use... the flange setting makes a nice metallic ring, similar to the Beastie Boys computerized vocoder sounds in the single, "Intergalactic"

Intergalactic planatery, planatery intergalactic...
 

realdynamix

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2001
:) Hey Pal! I have an effectron II, this unit has some interesing tones, and effects, especially the long modes and repeat.

Not all effect units need to have full bandwidth for what you're after. But, I find it still useful on some tracks. This one has the hass effect stereo, that can be play tricks on your senses. It is junk by todays high resolution units and plugs, but it is a viable rack tool when you want somthing a little different. I can send you an MP3 with a song using the unit. Are you on ICQ? Or have a way for me to get it to you rather than e-mail. You will see how effective it can be.

--Rick

--Rick
 

Fruition2k

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Location
South Florida
Depending on the max delay time you can do alot of things from flanging, chorus, doubling, and echo. The Jr. was a more affordable version of the Effectron - followed by the Effectron II finally the Compueffectron. I still have my effectron I bought new from in 1983 for $580. I always prefered the chorus in it to past items I've had like the PCM 42, SPX 90, and others. Delta Lab used ADM (Adaptive Delta Modulation) to digitize instead of PCM (Pulse Code Modulation). Anyone remember the DBX 700 2 trk processor which used ADM?
You can learn alot from a simple DDL tweak and enjoy.
 

AudioGaff

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2001
Location
Silicon Valley
Not all effect units need to have full bandwidth for what you're after. But, I find it still useful on some tracks.
True, but I can make just about anything useful in some way or another. I also have dozens of ways to get that same type of lofi character, even if using my Eventides. It is still considered junk, and some people like and use junk, nothing wrong with that as long as you don't expect it to be anything else.
 

realdynamix

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2001
Originally posted by AudioGaff:
It is still considered junk, and some people like and use junk, nothing wrong with that as long as you don't expect it to be anything else.
:) I have to confess AG, my racks contain a lot of crap :D . I agree about modeling the effect with modern flexible gear. It is not my defacto delay, however some other uses are for pre-delay on outboard verbs that don't have any. This piece of my junk I think will keep till it dies. 98% of the other junk stuff is slated for e-bay so I may obtain a Seb Pre and few other fine pieces.

--Rick
 

UncleBob58

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Location
Fairfield County, CT
One man's junk is another man's piece of gold. Hey, for the most part I'm completely digital; I love the flexability, the clarity and the ability to automate just about anything I wish. But sometimes that old piece of "junk" is the perfect thing. I still use my Boss/Roland CE-200 chorus. It's noisy and limited, but it just has a magical quality on those rare occasions when I use it.

:p:
 
N

nugget

Guest
DEAD RIGHT
There's an effectron delay unit ( can't remeber the name/model )that has a cross-fader for the delay time control.something i haven't seen much where else.i've used it in live and mixing setups with heaps of satisfactin.got to the right time phrase rythmically in less than a second.i.e very user friendly with no "scrolling" type buttons.Also , the bypass is a real bypass if you know what i mean with NO colouration.
 

Fruition2k

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Location
South Florida
Last month I used my Effectron to show the folks down in the Avid editing room what I meant when I tried to explain they had 2 sources of the same thing recorded in peice they were working on.
Took them to the audio room put up a CD, dialed in 2ms delay on the effectron and said "this is the same source and the delay, this the sound your getting! Sound familar?" If you hear this when your working on audio stop and check your routing on the mixer you may find your sending two sources to the same place! Video guys..nice guys but sheesh they didnt think there was anything wrong at first until they heard the Effectron demo!

Happy flanging
 

RecorderMan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2001
Originally posted by Rick Hammang:
Not all effect units need to have full bandwidth for what you're after.
Very true Rick. In fact full bandwidth for delays, etc. is usually counterproductive. It just means more frequencies to compete with the original. I'm very often eq'ing the sends to slaps (delays) and chambers (reverbs) in addition to lowering the lo-pass filters on the verbs and delays, and the same with lowering the lo-pass on regeneration. One reason tape delay worked so well was that each successive repeat was darker and thinner than the previous one.
If you picked that unit up cheap, I say good score. It's a bit of a two trick pony, but that'll free-up/compliment other fx units you have.
 

realdynamix

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2001
Originally posted by Fruition2k:
Video guys..nice guys but sheesh they didnt think there was anything wrong at first until they heard the Effectron demo!

Happy flanging
:) I know it well, some of the blame comes from the fact that for a given DVW, they only use one source mixer for input and output. If they leave the input to their sound card unmuted, they double the sound track when dubbing. I solved that poblem....I don't use a DVW :D .

(Dead Link Removed)

However I do have a dial up delay to align audio to video on old 7th gen vhs newsfootage, an old MXR fits the bill at work. Some as bad as 262ms so far.

--Rick
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top