Noise Reduction Plug-in

UncleBob58

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Location
Fairfield County, CT
Okay, they say I can't use DiNR with Pro Tools LE. Any suggestions out there? Just got offered a short film job and the sound is [explitive deleted] HORRIBLE!!! It's about 18 db below nominal level and eq, gating, etc. just won't cut it on the sample piece they gave me. HELP!

:d: :s:

Thanks,

Uncle Bob

:p:
 

UncleBob58

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Location
Fairfield County, CT
Thanks guys. Just got an e-mail from Digidesign and DiNR is now available for PT LE OS 9.2.2. Now, if I can only dig up the $800.00.........
:roll:

Anything else comparable but less expensive?


Uncle Bob

:p:
 

noteFarm

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2003
How would Arboretum Ray Gun work out for you? It is very easy to use and not expensive.
It has 4 sections to it .One for noise, one for pops and crackles and one section has filters, and one has eq.
It works very well for the $ and has saved me a few times.
Let us know what you chose.
Peace
NoteFarm
 

Ethan Winer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
New Milford, CT USA
Bob,

> DiNR is now available for PT LE OS 9.2.2. Now, if I can only dig up the $800.00 <

For that kind of money you could buy an entire Windows computer with video monitor, plus a fine noise reduction program, plus a network card to get the files back and forth to your Mac!

--Ethan
 

Markd102

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2001
You can download the Waves Restauration Bundle and use it fully featured for 14 days. That should get you out of trouble.
Then if you really want it after that.... buy it.
 

UncleBob58

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Location
Fairfield County, CT
Hey Ethan,

The PT Video Toolkit upgrade to PT LE 5.3.2 is $795.00 and includes DiNR and Vocalign. That is what I will be getting. I will also be getting a discount now that I have completed the PT certification course.

By the way, I'm a hardcore Mac guy. Spending hours configuring PCs that I could be spending making music and doing sound design is not my cup of tea. With my Mac I plug it in or install it and it works, no hassles, no problems. Almost every problem I have ever had was a faulty piece of gear or my own error. Every time I'veused a PC it has been a major headache. No dis on all you guys who love to dig into that kind of thing, it just doesn't appeal to me.

Peace,

Uncle Bob

:p:
 

Ethan Winer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
New Milford, CT USA
Bob,

> I'm a hardcore Mac guy. <

I was only kidding. Well, mostly kidding because it's true that fast PCs these days are very inexpensive.

> No dis on all you guys who love to dig into that kind of thing, it just doesn't appeal to me. <

I understand fully - as hardcore as I am for PCs, I do appreciate that Macs have their place.

--Ethan
 

Markd102

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2001
Originally posted by Uncle Bob:
By the way, I'm a hardcore Mac guy. Spending hours configuring PCs that I could be spending making music and doing sound design is not my cup of tea. With my Mac I plug it in or install it and it works, no hassles, no problems. Almost every problem I have ever had was a faulty piece of gear or my own error. Every time I'veused a PC it has been a major headache. No dis on all you guys who love to dig into that kind of thing, it just doesn't appeal to me. ;) (Back then I was saying Gimme a Mac). But the two most recent have been XP home, then XP pro, and both times I have been up and recording without a hitch within 45 minutes of installing the OS. No tweaking needed.

In short... both platforms now are as stable as each other. Both will produce the same sonic quality of music. And both are easy to operate.
It simply comes down to what we prefer, and we shouldn't have hangups about what is better, because one isn't better.

Just my 2c :p

Mark
 
Top