Opus, Load new drivers for NU dongles?

omegaarts

Member
Joined
May 12, 2003
Used your tweeks on my system. Should I load the new dual dongle drivers for NU 2 before I install or after?
Another note in the manual "ACPI causes bad peformance" in your tweeks doen't it say to install XP Pro in APCI mode?
I'm getting ready to load NU 2 probably today with 1.61 still on the same OS.
Can't wait to take a peak, got a project to transfer from tape waiting!
Larry
 

Opus2000

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2001
Larry

What version of my tweak guide do you have? Make sure you have the latest as I do state to install under ACPI!

I'm not sure on the dual dongle install driver thing as I only have N2 on my system! Didn't test it with Nuendo 1.x on.

It's a very nice application I might add!

Opus :D
 

omegaarts

Member
Joined
May 12, 2003
Opus,
The manual for NU 2 says not to install under ACPI.
Mine is working fine with 1.6 guess I'' give it a try.
Thanks,
Larry
 

Opus2000

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2001
Really? Not to install it under ACPI! HA!
That's all I use as do several other users...

I wouldn't worry about that in any way man!

I'll have to ask why they said this.

Opus :roll:
 

omegaarts

Member
Joined
May 12, 2003
Opus,
Section 4 page 56. Nu 2 Getting started manual.
Related info ACPI vs. Standard PC mode bottom line
ACPI kills audio performance.
Your thoughts on this?
Thanks,
Larry
 

Opus2000

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2001
Well, I don't have the quick start guide so I couldn't tell you what it is truly referencing.

As I stated before I am not sure where they truly get this information. I know several people who use ACPI mode and don't notice a single difference over that and Standard PC.

Now, remember that ACPI allows the OS to determine how things are controlled...but you can still change that within the OS and the power saving options.

If you disable all the graphics silliness microsoft adds as well as the hibernation or screen saver stuff you're fine.

I've set the motion to find out what the deal is and will report back to you on this.

I may need to do some testing on this as well.

Opus :D
 

omegaarts

Member
Joined
May 12, 2003
Opus,
I think I've disabled about everything but the Kernal in XP Pro so that's probably why it's working so good. I'll wait for your discovery process.
Larry
 

Opus2000

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2001
Ok, the word from above is this...that's old an outdated! Basically this had to do with motherboards that did not hace APCI functionality and also since Win2K in ACPI mode put all IRQ's on one number!

So in essence you should ignore it unless you have an older motherboard that does not support this!

Cheers

Opus :D
 

omegaarts

Member
Joined
May 12, 2003
Asus P4T 533-c
3.06ghz HT
1 Ghz 1066 Rambus
Matrox 550 dual dig
2 WD JB's
Nu 1.61 and Nu 2
RME HDSP 9652
UAD 1
Sony DMX R100
Ardsync II
96K Finalizer
Masterlink
Ton of OB gear
AND OF COURSE OPUS TWEEKS!
Ain't no ACPI bothering me!
Thanks
 
Top