Sean G

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Location
Sydney, Australia
It looks like they have an interesting new console / control surface coming down the pike soon too.
Here is a preview of the PreSonus StudioLive 32 Series III

I trust what Ray Tantzen has to say...maybe its a beard thing.

On the other hand...the other guy without the beard, Ace Baker...looks a little sus ;)

 

audiokid

Chris
Moderator
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Location
Nanaimo BC, Canada
PreSonus = brilliant company.

Circuit Emulated Modeling. Describing plug-ins like this is more realistic. They use pictures but aren't saying its a LA2A. (y)

This new line of mixers (I think) is really all most of us need. Get a record contract, then we take it to the studio, that is, if it is actually that much of a issue.
I wonder if they've improved the converters and pre-amps. Not that I am complaining but that would be what lessens the gap between home and pro methods to capture audio.

Multi-track recording without the need of a external computer. (y)

@dvdhawk Dave, are you still a PreSonus dealer?
 

audiokid

Chris
Moderator
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Location
Nanaimo BC, Canada
Here is a good picture of it:
SLMAD32-xlarge.jpg


 

DonnyThompson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Location
Akron/Cleveland, OH
Presonus really does seem to be on fire these days... this is just one more product they are offering that is bringing solid, respectable, sonic quality to small to mid-sized production facilities, and at an affordable price; and, considering what you're getting for the cost, it appears to me to be a groundbreaking product - not so much in the foundational technology, because digital hi-res recording and mixing has been around for awhile now - but it's in the way they are incorporating it all together... in the "all-in-one" device; offering hi-fidelity recording, good-sounding emulated processing, along with all the other necessities; like EQ, aux's, cues, etc., with a one button "at a glance" approach - this feature isn't really "new", the Yamaha O2R had this same topology back in '97, but it didn't have the quality converters or pre's that Presonus has become known for having, nor did it have the very cool feature of providing built-in live recording without having to interface to an external DAW or Recording Device.

(I'm also betting that the integration of the SL32 to their S1 DAW is seamless.)

And, to many, I'm confidant that one of the big selling features of this desk - beyond those already mentioned - is actually one of the simplest things... they've brought back the tactile approach to mixing; and with full 32 fader topology, instead of having to assign 2, 4 or 8 faders to full 16, 24 or 32 track mixes.
You can actually put your hands on this thing, tweak knobs, push faders. etc., and that is gonna mean quite a bit to those who miss that tactile side of mixing.

I'm excited about this, and looking forward to hearing more about it - as well as hearing music that's been produced on it. ;)

IMHO of course,
-d.
 

pcrecord

Quality recording seeker !
Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Location
Quebec, Canada
Circuit Emulated Modeling. Describing plug-ins like this is more realistic. They use pictures but aren't saying its a LA2A. (y)
It would be a lot better if some emulations, let's say preamp emulations would be done with different electronic circuits !
Like Vox did with the AV60 (just bought one btw) ;)
 

Kurt Foster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
Location
77 Sunset Lane.
he Yamaha O2R had this same topology back in '97, but it didn't have the quality converters or pre's that Presonus has become known for having

have you ever used a PreSonus pre Donny? just wonderin' .... :rolleyes:

the very cool feature of providing built-in live recording without having to interface to an external DAW or Recording Device.

this is the one thing i find attractive. it is like the Joe Co. i think we are going to see more and more of this kind of thing. the only feature i am missing is ability to punch in and out on individual tracks of a file. that would be cool! :cool:
 

DonnyThompson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Location
Akron/Cleveland, OH
have you ever used a PreSonus pre Donny? just wonderin' .... :rolleyes:

Yes. about half of the LOVE album I produced for Terry Fairfax was tracked through a Presonus 1818VSL, before I got the ADK preamp halfway through the project.

I've always heard them as being on the transparent side, clean, certainly usable, and not the sub-standard quality that others have mentioned hearing.
But, that's just me. I can't validate what others hear.
 

Kurt Foster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
Location
77 Sunset Lane.
Yes. about half of the LOVE album I produced for Terry Fairfax was tracked through a Presonus 1818VSL, before I got the ADK preamp halfway through the project.

I've always heard them as being on the transparent side, clean, certainly usable, and not the sub-standard quality that others have mentioned hearing.
But, that's just me. I can't validate what others hear.

(y)
 

DonnyThompson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Location
Akron/Cleveland, OH
I just wish mixers exist with different physical electronic circuit path like the AV60 ;).. Doubt it will come to life but it would be amazing to have...
I'm sure it's doable... but to do that and still keep the cost reasonable is another thing. ;)

I think that's where something like a 500 Series rack would come in handy, to front load the signal any way you wanted to... :)
 

audiokid

Chris
Moderator
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Location
Nanaimo BC, Canada
have you ever used a PreSonus pre Donny? just wonderin' .... :rolleyes:
Kurt, if I recall, the last time you used a PreSonus pre was at least 10 years back, maybe further correct? They are much better now. I did A/B's between a few well known's and the last SL32 ai and they had improved it a lot. Still not like the big boys but good enough to get Donny, the Ohio's best producer and CD awards http://www.theohiomusicawards.com/

Does anyone know what the top-out SR is on this? Is it 96, or 192, etc... and is the SR/BR track-count dependent?
I know they are at least 96k.
 
Top