protools plays back late

niclaus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Location
Burbank, CA, USA
Dear fellow members,

This weekend i was tracking guitar and i came across something really weird.

We overdubbed guitars over some drums track and while we were recording, every takes (well almost) sounded good and on time. But when we hit playback, everything was out of time...
So i spent a lot of time moving regions forward.

So This morning, i did some tests, and i found out That if i want to listen to what has actually been recorded, i had to close the session and open it again.

To say it differently, while we record everything sounds fine. Then You listen back and the guitars Sound late. Close and open the session again. Guitars Sound perfectly has they were recorded.

I tried on a PT9HD rig as well as a PT10HD.
I tried on two different mac.
I tried with or without delay compensation.
I tried in punch mode as well as in normal mode.
Nothing seems to fix this issue.

Anyone had already encountered this?

Thanks for your help.

N.
 

DonnyThompson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Location
Akron/Cleveland, OH
Have you made any recent changes to your system - new software, security updates, anything?

You didn't mention if you've been able to record in the past without difficulty, or what audio i/o you were using, or if you were Mac or PC, or what your latency/buffer settings are for both recording and playback.... the more info you can give us, the more we can help you without "guessing".

It's been years since I was a Pro Tooler... it sounds like it could be either a recording or playback latency ( maybe both) setting to me? Also, do you have any other audio drivers - other than the one for your primary interface - resident anywhere on your system? Maybe a driver for an older interface you may have had in the past still resident and active, or, a built-in sound card perhaps? You'll want to check and make sure that your current primary i/o is the only one enabled on your system...

Also, have you checked for bug fixes/patches for your version of PT, or for updated drivers for your audio interface? Both software and firmware if that applies...
 

niclaus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Location
Burbank, CA, USA
Dear donny,
Thanks for your answer.
No we did not do anything on That computer. (but as i said i tried on another computer and the same thing happens).

We are using a mac pro 2.8 ghz octo intel.
We were recording mics into Neve 1073 into avid 192 interface.
We use a magma extension chassis for pci cards.
2 core and 1 process cards.
Buffer set @128samples (cannot go below That when using 2 dsps)
Playback buffer on level 2(default)
Plug in buffer on level 2 (default)


As for the differents i/o, are You talking about playback engines?
If so i do have severals (built in audio,...) of them but only ever use the HD TDM.

But again, same thing happen on 2 different systems, and on 2 different macs.
I even tried on a hdnative rig. Same thing.

Honestly, i can't tell You if That happened before, but i sure did not noticed it before.
The delay is quiet low but This weekend i was working with a really tight guitarist. Tight enough That when he was doubling tracks,You could feel almost phasing between the already recorded take and the one he was doing. But once You play it back, not That tight anymore.
Close and open session.
Tight again...
We are talking small differencies but still...

Does That help?
 

niclaus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Location
Burbank, CA, USA
When i first noticed it, i did have some plugins on some of the tracks (not the master though).
I took them out to see if That would change anything but it did not. I still had the same problem.
 

Kurt Foster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
Location
77 Sunset Lane.
the problem is latency on playback, not recording. if the plugs are inserted on previously recorded track while you overdub, removing the plugs on playback will not cure the latency. the damage is already done. the only remedy is to slide the overdubs back into line with the other tracks.

plugs introduce latency because it takes a few milliseconds for the computer to do the math. never use any plugs as you are recording unless you are tracking the plugs to tape.
 

zero

Registered
Joined
Mar 5, 2021
Location
ro
Had the same problem and this is how I solved it. One of the plugins was causing the latency that persisted even when the plugin was bypassed. I duplicated the track WITHOUT the inserts or sends, (so just the active playlist) and dragged over just the plugins that didn't cause latency. The initial latency was over 600ms, impossible to work with. In my case I'll choose to use that particular plugin that was causing the huge latency as a last stage,: drag it over on the good track, then commit all the inserts. You can simply remove the plugin and the problem is solved, but in case you still want to use it later as a "commit to here" and keep your settings, use this method, and when you're done editing or mixing, drag it over and commit. I hope it helps someone here, 14 years later, haha!
Cheers!
 

zero

Registered
Joined
Mar 5, 2021
Location
ro
Thanks.

That thread was from 2016, so I've made a note to let you know in March 2030.
My bad, I read the date the last person joined (2007) instead of their reply's date. But good catch and practice focusing on useless details instead of the actual helpful content! Keep it up!
 

audiokid

Chris
Moderator
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Location
Nanaimo BC, Canada
Had the same problem and this is how I solved it. One of the plugins was causing the latency that persisted even when the plugin was bypassed. I duplicated the track WITHOUT the inserts or sends, (so just the active playlist) and dragged over just the plugins that didn't cause latency. The initial latency was over 600ms, impossible to work with. In my case I'll choose to use that particular plugin that was causing the huge latency as a last stage,: drag it over on the good track, then commit all the inserts. You can simply remove the plugin and the problem is solved, but in case you still want to use it later as a "commit to here" and keep your settings, use this method, and when you're done editing or mixing, drag it over and commit. I hope it helps someone here, 14 years later, haha!
Cheers!
Excellent seeing old threads resurface with updated info. Thanks for sharing how you solved this, Zero. Welcome aboard.(y)
 
Top