Samplitude Pro X3

kmetal

Kyle P. Gushue
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Location
Boston, Massachusetts
X2 Suite, originally from the 'normal' Pro X....so this time I'm just going up one version.

Big fan of the full versions of things like AM-munition so when they offered me the original upgrade for essentially peanuts I leapt at it.

Edited...wrong plugin name! It's been a long day!

Thanks Keith that eases my mind a bit, think I'm in the clear.

I'd be curious to hear what your thoughts are on any of the new features when you get a chance to play around with them.

Cheers!
 

kmetal

Kyle P. Gushue
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Location
Boston, Massachusetts
I'm pretty sure i read it in the license agreement fairly recently. But here's a screenshot from the forum.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3310.PNG
    IMG_3310.PNG
    142.9 KB · Views: 203

kmetal

Kyle P. Gushue
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Location
Boston, Massachusetts
Yeah they include a 'skins' pack on the new one. I think they're getting the point that people judge by looks a lot. Also the Sam/sequoia look has a very dated look to it. Reminds me of Adobe audition. Very clinical.

Super excited to get going!
 

DogsoverLava

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Location
Vancouver
I just checked a private torrent site and found Sequoia 13 which has been on the site for 8 months and has a total of 3 downloads so it doesn't look like piracy is taking too big a bite. I personally will not use cracked or pirated software but I am frustrated for sure by restricted licenses that make is hard to use software you've bought or fail to see how today's working musician needs to be able to use the tools across multiple platforms (like you said, at the studio, at home, on a laptop). I also get frustrated when you can't demo software (try before buy).

Sequoia looks good and it's on my radar but far out in the distance at this point.
 

kmetal

Kyle P. Gushue
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Location
Boston, Massachusetts
Very interesting. I wonder if it's because people would rather be fashionable with a diff program, or because people just don't know about sequoia. Perhaps magix needs a little help on the marketing side of things? Maybe their happy right where they are.

I wonder if 'neve style' skins for the mixer would increase interest. Lol
 

Keith Johnson

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Location
Manchester, UK
Their original remit was fairly different than most, though, with Sequoia at least....being intrinsically linked with audio to video.

In the classical world it's well used alongside other alternatives like Pyramix and Sadie.
 

kmetal

Kyle P. Gushue
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Location
Boston, Massachusetts
Well magix confirmed that the version I purchased was the full pro x 3 suite, just for the upgrade price! Thanks a million chris! You saved me at least $80.

I went to register my serial number and there is a few options for which version I'm a little unclear as which one to select. Choices are as follows

Samplitude Pro X3 Suite (D)

Samplitude Pro X3 Suite (ES)

Samplitude Pro X3 Suite (F)

Samplitude Pro X3 Suite (I)

Samplitude Pro X3 Suite (II)

Any ideas what these mean? I'm thinking it's different languages.

Just wondering @Keith Johnson which one you selected?

Figured I'd ask here before I opened a support ticket w magix.

Thanks.
 

DonnyThompson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Location
Akron/Cleveland, OH
X2 Suite, originally from the 'normal' Pro X....so this time I'm just going up one version.

Big fan of the full versions of things like AM-munition so when they offered me the original upgrade for essentially peanuts I leapt at it.

Edited...wrong plugin name! It's been a long day!

Hmmm... I'm pretty sure that the Magix "Analog Modeling" collection ( which includes Am-munition, Am-phibia, Am-track, Am-pulse...) comes stock with any Pro X system... (?) I'm happy to be corrected on this if I'm wrong, but when I got Pro X 1 Suite, I got that collection as stock .. I didn't have to pay extra for them.

This may have changed since, though.
 

DonnyThompson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Location
Akron/Cleveland, OH
I went to register my serial number and there is a few options for which version I'm a little unclear as which one to select. Choices are as follows

Samplitude Pro X3 Suite (D)

Samplitude Pro X3 Suite (ES)

Samplitude Pro X3 Suite (F)

Samplitude Pro X3 Suite (I)

Samplitude Pro X3 Suite (II)

My "hunch" is that these are likely language designations ( D is Deutsch ( German), F is French, E is English, etc.); whereas - and I'm only guessing here - the numerical designations - I, II, - might be pricing/version codes for Students, Teachers, etc.
but... I'm only guessing.

Although - and I don't know the answer to this, so I'm asking - doesn't the version of your OS matter in this case as well? I know there are diffe versions of Windows... maybe Espanol, German...
 

kmetal

Kyle P. Gushue
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Location
Boston, Massachusetts
Ya know you might be on to something w th OS, could be 32/64 bit.

I'll have to see what magix says about it. I'm not up on my Deutsch yet, so I need the right one.
 

audiokid

Chris
Moderator
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Location
Nanaimo BC, Canada
Ya know you might be on to something w th OS, could be 32/64 bit.
I'm not sure if Samplitude installs the same driver for both Samplitude and Sequoia... but from Sequoia 13 on, it installs the 32 and 64bit drivers which gives the option to run either 32 or 64 bit platforms. Obviously suited for Windows 7, 8 or 10 32 or 64 bit OS.

64 bit Sequoia runs great. The difference between Sequoia 12> 32bit vs Sequoia 13 >64bit was well worth the upgrade. I no longer use 32bit plugs either. Its all 64bit. Very smooth.

Being said, if you have a 64bit OS, the 64bit DAW is the way to go.
 

kmetal

Kyle P. Gushue
Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Location
Boston, Massachusetts
Yeah all my new stuff is 64bit based. I scooped a netbook (dual core celeron) for cheap to handle all my registrations. i believe it has w10 32 bit.

I got it for administrative stuff like emails, but I'm of course gonna see what it can handle audio wise just for fun.

If it actually runs Sam, which it might not be able to handle, I'll start learning some of the basics with it. No high hopes or anything more curiosity.

No idea how Sam installs. It's part of the reason I want to go thru the whole installation and registration on a computer that's disposable first. The new studio stuff is gonna be kept as Internet and clutter free as possible.

Kinda wanna do a dry run of the install process.

As far as Sam version goes, I think you can download any of the versions like French or watever at any time so it may not be über critical at the registration but I'd rather be safe.
 
Top