Tape/Channel-strip analog style plugs for PC?

anonymous

Hi,
I was just wondering if anyone knew of any VST or DX tape/channel-strip style plugs, similar to the McDSP and DuY stuff.
Thanks,
Mitchell

Ethan Winer

Mitchell,

There are lots of them, but I question the value of that approach. Mostly because a plug-in that offers everything will probably use more of the PC's resources than separate, dedicatedplug-ins

I use and love the UltraFunk plug-in pack. This is a great collection of separateplug-ins so you can use only what a track really needs which is very efficient. The best part about the UF plugs is they sound great, but equally appealing is the reasonable price ($300) and that it's not copy protected.

--Ethan

D

Doc@BeefyTreats.com

Mitchell,
I am a Pro Tools guy, but cross-platform-wise I would recommend the Wavesplug-ins They are expensive, but you could download a demo and try them out. Doc

anonymous

Thankyou, but I actually meant something more along the lines of a tape/tube saturation simulator to help add that big, warm analog type sound.

sorry for being unclear.

I have found a couple (PSP vintage warmer and RubyTube) that I'll be trying. If anyone knows of any others, please let me know.
Thanks,
Mitchell

D

Doc@BeefyTreats.com

Ah, gotcha. Please post back with your opinion on those pluggers. Doc

Doublehelix

PSP has also just released a new plug-in that resembles a vintage channel strip...looks pretty cool. I don't think it is shipping yet however. I am anxious to hear some reviews on the sound. PSP is a very impressive company, and from what I hear, are moving toward "boxed" products rather than strictly "download" products.

3dchris

Mitchell,
I think that one of the best tape saturator kind of plugins is PSP Vintage Warmer. Did you have a look at it? It really sounds great.

tnx,

chris

anonymous