UAD-1 and Emagic Logic

S

sagreene

Guest
Hi,

I had a friend 'master' a track of mine with the UAD-1. Although my mix was a bit weak, the results were......well let's say I want one :)

I've heard that using them on individual tracks is not working very well in Logic audio...bigtime latency. Anyone using this effectively? Should I just switch to nuendo now? I'd love to strap the 1176 on some drums.......

thanks
 

Nate Tschetter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Howdy

Individual tracks aren't the problem, "live inputs" (auxes, buses and audio instruments) are. To minimize latency, Logic uses a different buffers for different parts of it mixer. There are some workarounds but basically, the solution is to _only_ use the Powered Plugs on individual tracks.

A fix for Logic is coming soon. Don't ask how I know. Act natural, say nothing.
 
S

sagreene

Guest
right on nate...

will that be for pc??

i'll probably buy a g5 when the next series comes out, but that will be a while...

sam
 

Opus2000

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2001
It still amazes me that a company can be racist towards a computer platform...I know it's primarily Apple that is doing it but still...

The only thought it...
Staggers the Mind! :D
 

Opus2000

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2001
Arent'y the PCI-X slots supposed to be backwards compatible though?!

Im sure soon enough there will be some hardwaremade that will take advantage of that speed...

Opus :D
 
K

kierankelly

Guest
Originally posted by Opus2000:
[QB] It still amazes me that a company can be racist towards a computer platform...I know it's primarily Apple that is doing it but still...

Apple is Proprietary, not racist . stability is key . As far a logic goes it is their right to only port it to Apple hardware as They are after all a hardware company first.
 

Nate Tschetter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Howdy

I don't think "racist" is a good term.

I've heard some rumors that some PCI cards won't fit in the G5. Actually, from what I can tell, more _won't_ fit then _will_. Firewire may be the best way to go.

I believe this includes Pro Tools. Yikes!
 

Alécio Costa - Brazil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
they have just dropped the plain old good d24´s and certainly dsp farms. The Digi guy wrote Mix I/o. !!!

If the G5´s will come bundled with only 3 slots, seems lots of expansion chassis will be popping up everywhere!
Or isn´t it time to Digi release a reaaaaaaaaly powerful HD+?
 

3dchris

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2002
Location
toronto
Apple is Proprietary, not racist . stability is key . As far a logic goes it is their right to only port it to Apple hardware as They are after all a hardware company first.
Kieran. Good for them. And they can stick it up their dirty as*** as I'm switching to Nuendo 2
And if you say Apple is stable then you probably never used one!

thx

chris
 

Alécio Costa - Brazil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Sorry, I don´t agree with you. I got two Macs here, ( G4 800 QS and a G3 233 beige) and they are a breeze.

I Just use Norton and Disk warrior to keep the things going fine, avoid internet viruses ( machines only for audio tasks) and cracks and I never have problems.

Not that a PC could not handle, in fact it would be much more cheaper, but I just did not enjoy it.
 

3dchris

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2002
Location
toronto
Alecio,
I was making 2 projects on macs (dual 500 and dual 1g) and they both cannot compete with my current rig (p4 3g overclocked to 3.3). I used logic audio on both. I get much more power from PC. But that's not the case...the thing is that MAC was crashing at least once a day...just restarting without warning...and that happened on 2 computers not just one. There was nothing else but music software installed (logic, peak , some plugins and toast for burning). Maybe it was configuration, I don't know. I know what was my experience with it. And the worst thing is that I do not know how to fix mac so I was stucked with showing him finger and cursing at him. I was about to get a voodoo doll and teach mac a lesson but I finished the project soon enough hehe :)
Since I switched to PC and winxp all my problems are gone and I had a crash maybe twice in the last 2 months and I'm sure it is because I overclocked the system. I'm running 30-40 96/24 audio tracks + 15-20 virtual instruments + 20+ real time plugins withouth any problem. The only thing that seems to be too slow is my HD but I got additional FireWire drive so I can mix from 2 drives at the same time. I wish I could try pro tools on mac. It is probably totally different experience..but logic on mac is nothing but pain in the ass. That's my experience, Alecio :)

Can we still be friends even though we love different machines? :)

chris

[ August 22, 2003, 07:54 AM: Message edited by: 3dchris ]
 
K

kierankelly

Guest
3d chris I am comming over to kick your ass. as I am in your lovely city all summer ( as long as the street car doesn't stop from a blackout ) .

seriously.. I have had great luck with my macs ( PT 5.2 tdm on a g4 duel 500 ,9.2 and pt 6.1 le on a titainum 867 OSX ) Logic is not a very intutive program ( I used it in v4 ) so your experience might be influenced by that .

The platform that people chose to use is there biz . But I anti- this , pro-that can be misleading to those looking into a system .

On the other hand the PC market seems to be driven by faster, cheaper, while the Mac market has been geared towards production. What I can produce with a platform has been the factor in my chosing. PC's are awsome if you are a savvy computer person. you can twick it to your hearts content.

all this said to quote the high priestess of pop

music makes the people come together
 

3dchris

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2002
Location
toronto
Kieran, hehe...come over. I need someone to kick my ass :) As I said to Alecio, I never tried pro tools. I think pro tools is totally different thing. My experience is based on logic and I absolutely didn't like it. I also do not like the mac computers themselves because I can't tweak them as much as I can a PC. The other thing is the selection of music software. Mac was once THE ONLY serious choice but those days are gone. PC is at least as stable as mac and from my experience is even more powerful than mac. I would only buy a mac for one reason: pthd. I'm not interested in mac for any other reason.

thx,

chris
 

Alécio Costa - Brazil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Hi Chris!
I bought an Athlon XP 2100 with a nice reasonably fast HD, 256MB RAM. It is really close to my G4 800, but I dunno if it would do audio so well. I am using Win2000.
Where in th world do you live bud?
:)
 

3dchris

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2002
Location
toronto
Alecio,
I have a bad experience with Athlon as well, ehh... as a matter of fact I had a dual Athlon 2000+ MP rig that one day just stopped working without warning. I found out that both processors were burned...I didn't even overclock them..I still don't know why that happened but since then I decided to go only with Intel cause I never had a problem with it.
How do you like being a moderator? :)

chris
 
Top