Skip to main content

OK, now that the year is about half over...how's it going out there?

Buisness up/down/same?

Topic Tags

Comments

anonymous Mon, 06/10/2002 - 11:45

Funny you should post this question at this time. I've been evaluating my prospects of staying in the studio business recently. So, to answer your question...

It's disappointing, disheartening, discouraging, and every other "dis" you can think of. And for one reason -- people don't care about quality anymore.

I have a high end studio a little west of Cleveland, OH. I'm in this location for a couple reasons out of my control. I've previously lived and worked in the music business in Boston, NYC, and LA. I'm a very competent producer and engineer. I offer the best equipment and instruments that anyone could want. And at a VERY reasonable rate. I'm friendly and very customer-satisfaction oriented (I'm stating this pat-on-the-back crap so you can rule out me being a talentless asshole in this equation). But increasingly, people are thinking "why should they spend money in a professional studio" when they can buy Cool Edit Pro for their existing home PC and a Shure 57 and make their own CD. Like RecorderMan said in another post -- where he urged the aspiring engineer to "Run as far away as you can" -- everyone's an engineer and producer now. And quality doesn't matter. Sure, the clients can tell a huge difference when I play projects I've recorded versus some of my competition in the area, but do they want to PAY for it??? Hell no. And keep in mind, I'm only $35 an hour!!! People who do work here are extremely satisfied and successful with their projects, but increasingly I'm hearing how bands are recording things themselves and then bringing them to me to "master". I don't even make ANY claims about myself as a mastering engineer. I tell them there are only about 10 legitimate mastering engineers in the US anyway and that any other studio that says they can master their project is full of shit. I e