Skip to main content

So I am a college student, and I have a workstudy job in one of the buildings on campus. There is a history of Post-Production work at my college, so there is vintage stuff laying around all over. So I was organizing a pile of chair cushions in the basement, and lo and behold, there is an Ampex tape machine sitting under them. I got very interested in my job, and found two more similar machines. They are two-track, and I WANT THEM
Would they be worth using/restoring/having as cool furniture?
I can probably get them for next to nothing.
I will try to get serial S next week.

Would they be worth restoring/using/have around as cool furniture?

Thanks everyone, and sorry about the post, but it made my day.

EDIT: I think it may be an AG-440. Two tracks. Oh the joy of youtube.

I am looking forward to an interesting post and story on this machine if you have any.

Comments

moonbaby Thu, 01/29/2009 - 16:15

Naw, that was many moons ago when I cut demoes for the Van Zant boys.
These are not cheap to maintain, much less to repair. Their sitting around for what has probably been a few decades is not a good thing. Dust builds up and causes moisture to collect on parts and that ends up causing rust. Capacitors dry out, motors freeze up, rubber rollers dry out, etc. Not cheap. You might check out ATR Services (Google them). They offer various services on Ampex 2-tracks...

RemyRAD Fri, 01/30/2009 - 10:36

LMAO John. That's a Scully 280. Not an Ampex 440. It appears to be in a Ampex Cabinet? Scully's were mounted in a similar looking cabinet made by Russ Lang. Certainly not in working condition without electronics. LOL. Yeah, it may pull tape?

Some of the old machines are old workhorses that are hard to kill. What generally dies first is the rubber pinch roller. That will set you back about $100 US to have it retreaded or replaced.